Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

[UPDATED] ICECreatureControl v1.4.0 - creature AI for enemies, animals, monsters, zombies ...

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by icetec, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    I coded a new one that is based on Opsive TPC EventHandler ..
     
    icetec and julianr like this.
  2. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    even becuase I am using 1.3 and the 1.1 adapter does not work properly :)
     
    icetec and julianr like this.
  3. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,110
    hopefully the new one supports hit detection on each of the body parts as 1.3 supports this, which should be good for different damage areas.
     
    icetec and antoripa like this.
  4. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Yes .. I have been thinking ho do that. I have a couple of idea that I will test tomorrow
    Btw .. I started directy with 1.3 ...it is really amazing tool ...
     
    icetec likes this.
  5. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,110
    Yeah, 1.3 is great! Although I'm not moving from 1.1 for about a week as I am just about to release my first game build, albeit alpha, I just didn't want to delay it any longer.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  6. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    I was lucky ....I worked on the controller and enviroment 'til 5 days ago .. and now just kicked AI off directly with 1.3 ...
     
  7. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Hi,
    2 questions :
    Is that demo scene available?
    Does Ice work even with FinalIK? I do not have any IK solution, but I plan to buy that or Ootii. What is better with ICE?
     
  8. Harald_Heide

    Harald_Heide

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Posts:
    52
    Do you have an estimate for when the 1.3 will be ready in the Asset Store??
     
  9. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    You can use the below subclassing Health from Opsive into the adapter :
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. // HitScan
    3.    public override void Damage(float amount, Vector3 position, Vector3 force, float radius, GameObject attacker, GameObject hitGameObject)
    4.         {
    5.             _Controller.Creature.Status.AddDamage(amount);
    6.             if (ICETakeManagerBehavior != "" && _Controller.Creature.Status.IsDead == false)
    7.                 _Controller.Creature.Behaviour.SetBehaviourModeByKey(ICETakeManagerBehavior);
    8.             base.Damage(amount, position, force, radius, attacker, hitGameObject);
    9.         }
    10.         //Explostion
    11.         public override void Damage(float amount, Vector3 position, Vector3 force, float radius, GameObject attacker)
    12.         {
    13.          
    14.             _Controller.Creature.Status.AddDamage(amount);
    15.             if (ICETakeManagerBehavior != "" && _Controller.Creature.Status.IsDead == false)
    16.                 _Controller.Creature.Behaviour.SetBehaviourModeByKey(ICETakeManagerBehavior);
    17.             base.Damage(amount, position, force, radius, attacker);
    18.         }
    19.  
    _Controller is the ICE Controller that you initialize in AWAKE()¨
    The first method is for Hit and you have as parameters all the information to get the bone. You can add a SHotHead multiplier or just limit hitting the head ( l did for my zombies )
    Cheers,
     
    julianr likes this.
  10. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,110
    Nice work! Thanks for sharing It'll come in handy. :)
     
    antoripa likes this.
  11. Alex3333

    Alex3333

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    340
    Pit when to expect the updates Pun adapter ? And when to wait for UFPS adapter for version 1.3 ?
     
  12. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    I need to create multiple spawn points for a creature. What is the distribuition for ponints and how can i set up that ?
     
  13. TonanBora

    TonanBora

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Posts:
    492
    Hello Antoripa! :)

    If you click on the Creature Register, you should be able to set the pool settings for each creature:
    ICe 1.3 Multispawn.jpg
    Make sure you have the "POOL" options enabled for both the Reference Objects settings, and the individual settings for each creature you want to spawn.
    Once you do this, you can modify the spawning options of the pool enabled creatures, including spawn points.
    To add a new spawn point, just click the ADD button, and fill out the settings for the new spawn point.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  14. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Yes .. that's what I am doing.
    But now I need to spawn same creature in multiple "area" ...I have a city and I would not spawn creatures into building .. so Pit suggested to you multiple spawn points .. but I would control the number of spawn creatures for each point ...
    How can I do that ? I am using 1.3
     
  15. TonanBora

    TonanBora

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Posts:
    492
    Hmm, I do not think you can control the number of creatures spawned at each spawn point.
    I think you might need to make your own spawner for this case.

    Although it would be a nice feature to add to a future update @icetec.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  16. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,110
    I use Core Game Kit for this. Very flexible
     
    antoripa likes this.
  17. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    .. I agree .. that should be on next coming features list ...:)
     
  18. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    the one from DarkTonic ??
     
  19. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    So I can use whatever I want for spawning or I should take care of a kind of intergration .. and that should not a problem for me .. ? .. the creature register is just a spawner/pool when I activate pool ?
     
  20. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,110
    yeah, you can use it for Waves, or triggers.. set pools to how many you want to spawn, and how many of each kind, based on criteria.
     
    icetec, magique and antoripa like this.
  21. TonanBora

    TonanBora

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Posts:
    492
    You can either use a purchased spawner/pool, or create your own.
    As far as I can tell, there should not be any conflicting issues with using other spawners with ICE creatures.
     
    icetec and antoripa like this.
  22. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Cattura1.PNG Need small help ....
    When Health is zero .. and I checked that is zero .. I expect the "Die" behavior starts.
    That does not happen .. any suggestion from you guys Cattura.PNG ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2016
  23. julianr

    julianr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,110
    @antoripa Is your DIE behaviour influences set to 100% damage?
     
    icetec and antoripa like this.
  24. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    No need .. issue was that in Basics Session the Intiali Durability was not enabled...
     
    icetec and julianr like this.
  25. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    Hi Alex, I'm currently update all adapter, include the adapter for PUN ... to combine ICE with UFPS you don't need an adapter anymore, ICE works with UFPS out-of-the-box ... simply set the Damage Mode of the vp_FXBullet to 'Unity Message' and the method to 'ApplyDamage', so your player can hit your creatures and vice versa use the Target Event feature to send 'Damage' to your player or use one of the included weapen scripts.

    Have a great day!

    Pit
     
  26. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    Within the next days. I'm currently updating all the adapters, fix some last bugs and update the manual ... but if you send me your order number I can provide you a first release candidate ...

    Have a great day!

    Pit
     
    antoripa likes this.
  27. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,652
    I see talk of 1.3. Is that 1.3 of ICE or of some adapter? If it's 1.3 of ICE, what can we expect in the update?
     
  28. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    @all: which former versions of UNITY should be supported? The latest RC works with UNITY 5.3.2 and higher but if it's required I can prepare ICE also for older versions ...
     
  29. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    Hi magique, it's ICECreatureControl v1.3.2 ... I had to skip the v1.2 branch because there was to many conflicts and workarounds with code fragments of future versions ... if you want I'll send you the frist release candidate to test the new version ...

    Have a great day!

    Pit
     
  30. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    It's already on the list and I would have liked to realize it in the current release already but to avoid further dalays it's better to postpone some features and not the whole release ;)
     
    TonanBora and antoripa like this.
  31. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,652
    Sending you a PM.
     
  32. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    Hi everybody,
    here you can find two new (older) video tutorials which could be interesting for you ...

    This tutorial shows the basic setup without the wizard ...


    ... and this clip shows how to work with interactions ...


    btw. sorry for the terrible sound quality ...

    Have a great day!

    Pit
     
  33. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Hi,
    i would share a quick feedback related to perfomance with first release candidate ICE 1.3 : IMPRESSIVE.
    I have just spawned 400 Zombies creatures wandering in a circle around the player .. smooth ...and on a Laptop 4K Display with GTX960M ..I am using the pool and spawn embedded in ICE
    @icetec ..the best AI tool on Asset Store .. and no competition ... congrats
     
    icetec and julianr like this.
  34. paulojsam

    paulojsam

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    475
    can you please repost the download link for unitz use with ice
     
  35. KingLlama

    KingLlama

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Posts:
    180
    Some reason my AI, has a tendency to slide around some areas.
    Videos of my issues showing the list of what i've done so far.
     
  36. farooq-gill

    farooq-gill

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    why have you set the speed and transition values set to 0 in animation under Run behaviour rule. Give it some values like 1 or 1.5 for speed and 0.5 for transition I guess. Same for walk behaviour rule. transition value is 0. Give it some value and then check.
     
    KingLlama likes this.
  37. paulojsam

    paulojsam

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    475
    icetec can you please post a download link for the unitz adapter Thank you in advance!
     
  38. KingLlama

    KingLlama

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Posts:
    180
    It still is sliding all around actually. It is strange.
     
    farooq-gill likes this.
  39. farooq-gill

    farooq-gill

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    try setting the layer in motion and path finding. I mean set your terrain layer a name like "Ground" and then set the same layer instead of "Default" in motion and path finding. But to me it looks more like an animation problem.
     
    KingLlama likes this.
  40. KingLlama

    KingLlama

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Posts:
    180
    So what i've fixed is now that there was no animation for run so I set it to walk instead of run. Now i'm running into the issues of the zombies seeing me within their fov and chasing until a certain distance. Switching numbers around trying to find a sweet spot.
     
  41. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Are u applying Root Motion ? If your animations have Root Motion you should apply. You could have an issue related to your Avatar rotation that you can fix in 2 ways :
    1) A more complex animator with a BlendTree with Speed and Yaw coming from Ice Creature Control
    2) In Ice Creature Control add even a movement and setup forward 0.01 and Angular around 10-15. That will allow to move forward with Root Motion and let the control apply rotation ( having a forward on 0.01 is just to apply the rotation velocity )
    Both options work very well with my zombies and aliens or other monster creatures
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
    icetec and KingLlama like this.
  42. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,162
    Hey guys ..
    I am trying to have the scenario where if my avator fires with the weapon the sound will attract all the creature that have the corret audio range. I create the below setting, but it works only for the creature that Avatar hit.
    I am not very familiar with ICE ( just 4 days ) so I am wondering if that can be implemented. Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  43. KingLlama

    KingLlama

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Posts:
    180
    So what I realized was that my angular (y) velocity was at 4 when it was trying to run but I made the animation just do a walk instead and dropped the angular velocity to 1 and it fixed the sliding issue. I also mnade the slope limit 90 on the character controller so it doesn't get stuck on small rocks. My issue is the fact it notices the "hero" within a range of like 2-4 distance but it doesn't keep chasing after it notices it.
     
  44. miroku000

    miroku000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    So, I have a flying Player, and I have an arrow launcher that I want to follow the player around, but I want it to stay on the ground. However, currently, it seems like when the arrow launcher gets to the stopping distance it is bouncing off and being launched up into the air. If I uncheck "BAN" then the arrow launcher will not launch into the air. But will go all the way to the player instead of staying at a safe distance. And if the player is in the air it will be directly under the player.

    So, the arrow launcher is currently configured with an interaction with my player Set to follow them with a stopping distance of 10, to ignore height, and to use stopping distance as a restricted zone:

    upload_2016-10-29_17-42-48.png

    And the follow Behavior looks like this:

    upload_2016-10-29_17-45-35.png


    How do I configure it so I can keep the arrow launcher on the ground but have him try to follow the player around and get to a safe shooting distance and stop.
     
  45. paulojsam

    paulojsam

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    475
    i found the unitz adapter on the forum after a bit of reading ... Can ice create an enemy that shoots at the player, search cover and soo on, comparing to tactical shooter AI
     
  46. AndyNeoman

    AndyNeoman

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    870
    Good morning all. I am trying to set up a predator/prey relationship on two AI components. Can anyone link me to any tutorials or posts that could help me?

    I have some basic elements setup but could do with some more reading/watching material.

    Also on any herbivore AI like finding plants then eating them etc.... mine just seem to ignore items setup up to be food.
     
  47. farooq-gill

    farooq-gill

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    @icetec
    I want the creature to run away from me when I come near it. For that I am using the Escape behavior and I have attached the settings that i am using. Everything is working ok but the problem is the creature is moving backwards instead of running away. I mean its head is still on my side even when it is moving backwards BUT i want its head in the moving direction. Any idea how?. And I am using negative velocity in movement. Here is the screen shot. And I have selected "move" in the "view direction"
     

    Attached Files:

  48. Locky

    Locky

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Posts:
    86
    Supporting version 5.3.2 works fine for me; I am using version 5.4
     
    icetec likes this.
  49. icetec

    icetec

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    592
    Hi Farooq-Gill, please set the 'Viewing Direction' to default and specify a positive forward speed to fix your issue.
     
    farooq-gill likes this.
  50. AndyNeoman

    AndyNeoman

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    870
    Hi Pit,

    I'm getting this error when i try and save creature preset.

    InvalidOperationException: To be XML serializable, types which inherit from IEnumerable must have an implementation of Add(System.Object) at all levels of their inheritance hierarchy. UnityEngine.Transform does not implement Add(System.Object).
    System.Xml.Serialization.TypeData.get_ListItemType ()
    System.Xml.Serialization.TypeData.get_ListItemTypeData ()