Search Unity

Question Unloading Addressable Assets?

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by Guendolin, Jul 5, 2020.

1. Guendolin

Guendolin

Hi!

I'm new to addressable assets but I think it looks great. Before I start using them in a big project I wanted to test them out on a small scale and see how they work.

To keep it short and very general; in the bigger project the use case would be to try to reduce memory usage in one particular heavy scene. The user has an option to see previews of objects before selecting one of them. I'll use addressables to load and unload the objects as the users select between them. Building asset bundles and storing them online would not be used at this time, I would only like to use the load/unload function of the package. The build would contain everything.

I wrote a script trying this out. A simple thing that loads and unloads textures and sets them to a material. In the addressables event viewer everything seems to be working ok. (except that nothing shows if I don't load anything on start, but that's another question...)

The problem is that when I run the (editor) memory profiler I get a bit different behavior than I expect. The textures I load don’t seem to be released and still shows up in the memory profiler. I would expect the textures to be released once I released the asset reference.

On start no texture is loaded - a-ok!

I press space (load one texture) , one texture in memory - a-ok

O press space again (swap to a different texture), two textures in memory - ???

O press space again (swap to a different texture), three textures in memory - ???

And so on...

Is this just a quirk of the editor profiler or am I missing some core concept of how addressables work?

All the textures are in the same addressables group called “Textures”.

Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using UnityEngine.AddressableAssets;
    4. public class TextureLoader : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     public Renderer renderer;