Search Unity

UnityWebRequest (400 Bad Request) vs JavaScript

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by aer0ace, Apr 27, 2022.

1. aer0ace

aer0ace

I'm running into an issue where I'm calling a UnityWebRequest GET call, which results in 400 Bad Request, but from a test webpage executing Javascript with the same exact url GET call, succeeds. What's weirder is that, my server actually does receive the call, and the function returns okay, but Unity reports back 400, and reports ProtocolError in my coroutine.

Other notes, I am successful calling an earlier UnityWebRequest PUT without any problems.

This leads me to believe I'm doing something wrong with my UnityWebRequest. I know it's not much to go off of, as I'm pretty new to web development. Anyone have any ideas where I should investigate this?

2. passerbycmc

passerbycmc

you should show you code, you might not be waiting for it to complete or any other number of things

3. Bunny83

Bunny83

If you get an HTTP response code 400 Bad Request, that's a server error code. However response codes starting with 4xx generally indicate a client error. 400 Bad Request can be returned by a server if you send some malformed request or if there's something else wrong in the request itself. Like @passerbycmc said you have to show how your request actually looks like. We don't know what your server expects, so that's another thing. Though without knowing how your request looks like we can't really help you besides telling you: You did something wrong ^^.

4. aer0ace

aer0ace

It's pretty simplistic. Here's basically what I'm doing:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         private void RequestData(int id)
    2.         {
    3.             string ip = "localhost";
    4.             int port = 4000;
    6.             string uri = string.Format("http://{0}:{1}/api/command?id={2}", ip, port, id);
    8.             StartCoroutine(GetWebRequest(uri));
    9.         }
    11.         private IEnumerator GetWebRequest(string uri)