Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Question Unity's Robotics

Discussion in 'Robotics' started by UniteMage, Jan 10, 2022.

  1. UniteMage

    UniteMage

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Posts:
    120
    NOOB here at Robotics, and I would like to try using ROS tools and Unity Simulation Engine to simulate a Differential Drive Robot.

    Thanks

    I have used ROS on Ubuntu 20.04 Linux Setup... I am assuming that Unity and ROS will work on the same computer? I also use Windows and MacOS...

    Any advice here before jumping into the packages...
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2022
  2. amanda-unity

    amanda-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    Glad you're interested in checking out the Robotics tools! You might want to get started with taking a look at our Navigation 2 SLAM Example, which uses a TurtleBot3:

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. UniteMage

    UniteMage

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Posts:
    120
    I am stuck here Configure your Development Environment source previously mentioned...

    My environment:
    • Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS
    • Unity Editor system requirements: Ubuntu 20.04
    • Unity Editor 2020.3.26f1
    • ROS_VERSION=2
    • ROS_PYTHON_VERSION=3
    • PWD=/opt/ros/foxy
    Build the Docker container
    cd ros2_docker
    docker build -t unity-robotics:nav2-slam-example ./​

    The above CLI commands did not work...

    Under the git ros2_docker directory contains the following:
    colcon_ws , Dockerfile , ros2-setup.bash

    ..., so what am I doing wrong?

    Source:
    https://github.com/Unity-Technologi...dev_env_setup.md#set-up-the-ros-2-environment
     
  4. LaurieUnity

    LaurieUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Posts:
    77
    When you say the commands "did not work", what exactly happened?