Search Unity

UnityEditor.Graphs.Edge.WakeUp() having error

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by DriftyChild, Dec 5, 2018.

  1. DriftyChild

    DriftyChild

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    I don't even know what this error is coming from. I've never used UnityEditor.Graphs, nor do I know what it is. This error just randomly started appearing one day when I run my game. Double clicking the error takes me to a script I've never seen before.
     

    Attached Files:

    goldcloud144 likes this.
  2. DriftyChild

    DriftyChild

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Posts:
    12
    Still no clue what's going on.
     
  3. arkogelul

    arkogelul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    105
    I'm having this error as well and no particular reason for this to occur. (2018.4.13)
     
  4. TreyK-47

    TreyK-47

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2019
    Posts:
    1,822
  5. arkogelul

    arkogelul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Posts:
    105
    Hi TreyK,

    I have to say I'm kind of tired of doing bug reports. It takes time and so far, after a dozen of them, it never really helped in any way. I find a bug, I do a bug report, I upgrade to get the bug fixed, and there come 2 new bugs. I do 2 bug reports, so on and so forth... If I had nothing else to do, I'd do it, but I'm currently trying to work on game.

    I think you guys should stop implementing new stuff, and fix all the bugs until it's clean. Pilling up new features on such a mess will never work.

    You don't need more bug report, you already have a ton of projects to test. Open one project in Unity 5, open the same one in Unity 2019.2, and see for yourself.

    Someone did something that you should have done a long time ago:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/performance-overview.735185/
     
    Neogene, _eternal, laranthir and 15 others like this.
  6. mrwdunn

    mrwdunn

    Joined:
    May 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I am having the same issue all of the sudden in a project I am working on. Likewise, I've never used UnityEditor.Graphs, nor do I know what it is.

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Edge.WakeUp () (at <9061962f637f4c89b5332c95b2cf7751>:0)
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.DoWakeUpEdges (System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] inEdges, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] ok, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] error, System.Boolean inEdgesUsedToBeValid) (at <9061962f637f4c89b5332c95b2cf7751>:0)
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.WakeUpEdges (System.Boolean clearSlotEdges) (at <9061962f637f4c89b5332c95b2cf7751>:0)
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.WakeUp (System.Boolean force) (at <9061962f637f4c89b5332c95b2cf7751>:0)
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.WakeUp () (at <9061962f637f4c89b5332c95b2cf7751>:0)
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.OnEnable () (at <9061962f637f4c89b5332c95b2cf7751>:0)
     
  7. axlSoft

    axlSoft

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    same issue with me...

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    UnityEditor.Graphs.Edge.WakeUp () (at <b9a3caa6ce1e41d38bb8900569e148ae>:0))
    blahblah...

    Solution: RESTART!!
     
  8. masadakider

    masadakider

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Worked.
     
    hoiarvin and er1227 like this.
  9. MihaMarn

    MihaMarn

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Same here
     
  10. ahmed811

    ahmed811

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    RESTART its warked
     
  11. osasuna

    osasuna

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    RESTART is working just great!
     
  12. buddikanuwan

    buddikanuwan

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    restart has solved my problem
     
  13. esanuriana08

    esanuriana08

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Posts:
    13
    ANjay slurr cuma restart doang,, gua stack seharian cuma gara gara ini

    welldone
     
    nurbagus7 and Mayarmoawad like this.
  14. powerplay102

    powerplay102

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Restart works thx.
     
  15. PrimalCoder

    PrimalCoder

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Restarting would work for me, for a bit... The problem would inevitably re-appear within a few minutes of restarting though. I closed the Animator and Animation windows and restarted, and have not seen the problem appear again. Yet.

    [Added Dec 16] This problem will still eventually recur any time I spend a significant amount of time animating. It's now just one of those things: "Oh, I've had the Animator and Animation windows open for too long, and Unity is too busted to handle that. Better close them and restart Unity".
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2021
    nathanlin and Luis0413 like this.
  16. SirhotBay

    SirhotBay

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2021
    Posts:
    12
    This error happens out of your hand. Its pointing the source code object and nothing todo with it in unity. JUST RESTART! the unity and it will fix when turning on.

    ps: possibly, when you are back to your project last job you did will be broken. since unity will recover the last working version of your project.

    cheers.
     
  17. unity_AF4FDF886DFF36949096

    unity_AF4FDF886DFF36949096

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    IT works!!! As always.
     
  18. plusplusgames

    plusplusgames

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Posts:
    69
    So that bug report was pointless since it still hasn't been fixed, just got it now
     
    Socrates and onsterflike like this.
  19. davidowenbailey

    davidowenbailey

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same issue when replacing a class (component on the game object) with an inherited class instead.

    Restarting the editor made the problem go away. Annoying but not game-breaking.
     
  20. HADICproject

    HADICproject

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem . I think it is related to the animator/animation.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. UnityEditor.Graphs.Edge.WakeUp () (at <c9d804319889444480938d3c761b2e0a>:0)
    3. UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.DoWakeUpEdges (System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] inEdges, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] ok, System.Collections.Generic.List`1[T] error, System.Boolean inEdgesUsedToBeValid) (at <c9d804319889444480938d3c761b2e0a>:0)
    4. UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.WakeUpEdges (System.Boolean clearSlotEdges) (at <c9d804319889444480938d3c761b2e0a>:0)
    5. UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.WakeUp (System.Boolean force) (at <c9d804319889444480938d3c761b2e0a>:0)
    6. UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.WakeUp () (at <c9d804319889444480938d3c761b2e0a>:0)
    7. UnityEditor.Graphs.Graph.OnEnable () (at <c9d804319889444480938d3c761b2e0a>:0)
     
  21. BurningthumbStudios

    BurningthumbStudios

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    95
    I got this error after adding a struct that is visible in the editor to a scripted behaviour. Quitting and relaunching Unity solved it.
     
  22. JEYAKANNANJK

    JEYAKANNANJK

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    How to RESTART Unity Editor
     
  23. rRtlbstTt

    rRtlbstTt

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Posts:
    10
    Kould you help me please
     
  24. Colaboi

    Colaboi

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Restarting the editor works for like 10 minutes or so then I get the error again, can anyone please help?
     
  25. Legendile7

    Legendile7

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Yeah, restarting fixes the issue for a short while. However, I would like to see a fix from Unity so the problem doesn't exist. This bug seems to be related to Animator/Animation. This bug isn't game breaking in any way, just a little annoying to see a red message in console, so might be a low priority bug.
     
  26. Legendile7

    Legendile7

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Exit and reopen it.
     
  27. DayandNight81

    DayandNight81

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I also had this error since 5 days. No matter how many times I started Unity, the error came back after 10 minutes at the latest.

    I then noticed that in the last 5 days, I had created many new scripts and these scripts were almost all "public static instance". In the further programming, I had accidentally, between

    "public static <scriptname> instance" and "void Awake" => "instance = this;"

    in some scripts I had created new bools and floats and put them in between. Finally, I moved the newly created bools and floats under the Awake method in all scripts, from that moment on, I no longer had this error. Maybe it helps one or the other.
     
  28. sadpanders

    sadpanders

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2023
    Posts:
    12
    restarting and having it reoccur isnt a solution. especially years later. i cant find a proper fix.
     
    _eternal and Radivarig like this.
  29. slashgmes

    slashgmes

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    just restart
     
  30. allenk00

    allenk00

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Yes, It's totally USEFUL!
     
  31. BKsingh2715

    BKsingh2715

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2021
    Posts:
    17
     
  32. RST-XIII

    RST-XIII

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    This error still pops up. Pretty annoying.
     
    emredesu and ChescoRed like this.
  33. amazingjaba

    amazingjaba

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Like the previous posts suggested, surprisingly, restarting the editor (2019.4.31f1) made the error disappear.
    As a side note, I had the Animator and animation tab opened but not visible when I had this error.
     
  34. nndwn_

    nndwn_

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    im juts burn my computer and change another computer , ITS WORK
     
  35. Neogene

    Neogene

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Posts:
    95
    Still happening on 2022.3.22
     
  36. LeeSam14

    LeeSam14

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Yup still happening to me as well.