Search Unity

unityeditor.dockarea:ongui() error

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Tarball, Oct 16, 2016.

1. Tarball

Tarball

I'm totally new to Unity this weekend, and I'm getting a puzzling error that I can't find any relevant forum posts for or documentation on. My c# script that I'm using to try to create some simple animation is giving the following error:

mono_object_isinst(value, elementClass)
    UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()

I set up my states in the animator like everybody says (with a trigger) and use the following script:

using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;

public class sword_thrust :MonoBehaviour
    {
    Animator thrust_anim;

void Start()
    {
    thrust_anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
    }

void Update()
    {
    if(Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
    {
    thrust_anim.SetTrigger("thrust");
    }
    }

}

What does this error mean and how does it relate to my situation? Is there some major mistake in my method(s)? By the way, I'm using the experimental Linux build 5.3.

2. Bill_Martini

Bill_Martini

Can't tell you what that error means, but...

You need to use code tags when posting any code. I makes it much easier for us to help.

and replace this line;
    Code (csharp):
    1. Animator thrust_anim;
    with this line;
    Code (csharp):
    1. public Animator thrust_anim;
    then, in the editor select the object the script is on and drag your animator to empty slot labeled Thrust_anim in the script component.

3. Bill_Martini

Bill_Martini

After rereading just change;

Code (csharp):
    1.  private Animator thrust_anim;
    you're getting the animator in start.
    My suggestion above will also work but kill this line as you are supplying the Animator;
    Code (csharp):
    1. thrust_anim = GetComponent<Animator>();

4. Tarball

Tarball