Search Unity

[Unity5.5] Is PhysX going to be deterministic soon?

Discussion in '5.5 Beta' started by zhuchun, Oct 17, 2016.

1. zhuchun

zhuchun

2. Agent_007

Agent_007

I am not a developer of PhysX, but I am quite sure the PhysX won't ever be universally deterministic. There are just too many things that will cause issues in that.

Currently you can get quite similar results between runs if you run your game in one machine and you do not instantiate new physics objects during runtime.

3. zhuchun

zhuchun

What I really need is to step physics manually, like what you can do in Bullet. But Unity handles rigidbodies automatically, which is fine in most cases but makes physics itself impossible to be networked.

DziDAI likes this.
  4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape Moderator

Even if it was deterministic "soon" you'd be looking at a long time before it might be available in Unity. As it's merely rumour, I would say no.

The forum post indicates you would basically need to reload the scene each time you want the same results in Unity, which makes it useless for deterministic networking.

zhuchun likes this.
  5. SpaceSimulator

SpaceSimulator

I find real difficult to believe that a time-integrated physics package ,even worse ,running on non identical hardware can ever be deterministic.

three ball collision problem comes to mind ..

6. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

As least some form of physics can certainly be deterministic, given that's how the old Myth games loaded saved games. That is, save files were a recording of the game actions, and loading saves merely re-played the game at high speed.

--Eric

SpaceSimulator likes this.
  7. SpaceSimulator

SpaceSimulator

and it will be , as long as the saved game is run by the same computer. But if using another cpu , the results area gonna be different. I am ready to bet a beer that if I run

Code (csharp):
    2. float a = 3.7897495f;
    3. for (int i =0; i < 10000; i++)
    4. {