Search Unity

Unity3d not using true Javascript?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by steam_bucky, Dec 20, 2011.

1. steam_bucky

steam_bucky

I have have read a lot about which programmming launguage to use when starting out with Unity - I am planning to choose javascript as I am new to programming.

That said, a programmer friend of mine, who had a tinker with Unity, said that its unity doesn’t use true javascript - I am not a progammer so I don’t know what he means.

I need to know if Unity uses specific version of javascript because I want to get a book on learning it.

Or should i just go with unity script as I am a total Noob to progamming? I just need to start small...

2. Jaimi

Jaimi

Unity uses "UnityScript" which is like Javascript, but it's not javascript.

For you? Learn C#. It's a little harder, but in return you get more power. Plus it's harder to make mistakes.

3. steam_bucky

steam_bucky

Thanks for that info.

What would I be missing out by going with Unity Script and not C#?

4. npsf3000

npsf3000

Lots of docs and resources. The start is easier but if you decide to be a programmer it's more limiting.

I suggest getting some unity books [or free video tuts] and just spend some time making basic stuff.

Then once your happy with the engine make the decision on what language to focus on.

I started in US [because I came straight from ActionScript] but code almost exclusively in C#.

5. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

I would simply say go with c#. I use js myself but thats because I'm experienced in coding and just prefer to use it. C# is almost identical (needs a bit more fluff but you wouldn't notice it much). Cos there's more resources to learn c#

6. steam_bucky

steam_bucky

If I go the c# route - there a special section of begginner unity scripting tuts that relate to C# programmers?

Last edited: Dec 20, 2011
  7. TylerPerry

TylerPerry