Search Unity

Unity3D for server side and client side MMORPG development.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by M_Shrews, Aug 31, 2015.

1. M_Shrews

M_Shrews

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on this forum and I am sorry if this question has already been asked before but I was not able to find a thread that addressed the question I have about unity3D. I will place my question in bullet format to make them easier to read and pick out of my post.

• Can Unity3D be used to support MMORPG games? I have seen that there is support for networking / multiplayer within the engine. I am looking for something that could support at least 3000 simultaneous connections to a server.

• Does Unity3D support server side coding using a database like MySQL or does it have its own internal database structure?

• Does this game engine support collaboration development or do I need to have third party software like svn / git?

• For anyone that has had developed an MMORPG game using unity I would love to hear any comments about this. Please feel free to share your experiences, pitfalls, success stories with me.
    Once again sorry if this topic has already been asked in the forums and I missed it. I am looking for the most affordable and user friendly game engine to use for this project without having to build my own engine using direct X or openGL. This is one of the few engines I am considering using and would love some input before I start building the game.

2. jhocking

jhocking

For question 1, sure you can make an MMO using Unity. As for the simultaneous connections comment, that brings us to...

For question 2, no Unity doesn't have anything to do with the server side. Unity is totally a client-side technology; everything about the server (including how many simultaneous connections are supported) is outside the scope of what Unity is for.