Search Unity

Unity Won't Open ANY Project

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Swipe890b, Jun 22, 2020.

  1. Swipe890b

    Swipe890b

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Hey guys...

    I'm trying to open my projects, but I'm having some problems.

    Every time I click to open any project, Unity loading screen appears, but it open's Unity Hub again and closes the project.

    I tried Multiple versions, Reinstalling Unity, Opening project with scene and a lot of things, but nothing seems to work.

    Video showing my problem:


    If you have any ideias to help me, I would be grateful.
     
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Try removing the Lbrary folder from your project before loading it.
     
    PHAL75ANX, BPRICE, mshamsi and 2 others like this.
  3. Swipe890b

    Swipe890b

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Doesn't Work...
     
  4. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Deinstall Unity and reinstall it then. :)
     
  5. Swipe890b

    Swipe890b

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I tried it too :(
     
  6. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Install the version of Unity your project was made with and load it. Save it, back it up, remove the Library folder and try again upgrading it to a new version of Unity
     
  7. Swipe890b

    Swipe890b

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Didn't work.
    Also I tried to create a new projet, and I could. But if I close it, I can't reopen it.
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    Report a bug.
     
  9. Also check what the logs say. Usually there are error messages in there for occasions like this.
     
  10. HellaciousA

    HellaciousA

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    I just hit this as well. It appears to be a license check bug if you check your logs. I installed an older version of Unity Hub and it worked. New version appears to be broken for me.
     
  11. Report the bug! Since it doesn't hit everyone, something is blocking your network. Apparently Unity isn't aware of this. Since doesn't happen to everyone...
     
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User

    Guest

    1. quit the Hub from the tray,
    2. locate "Unity_lic.ulf" and delete it,
    3. restart Unity Hub.
     
  13. Horseplay1

    Horseplay1

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Locate it where? I searched but couldn't find. I can't even create a new project after reinstall hub and unity...
     
    JzetaSwitchBlade and SaltyBef like this.
  14. virtualsakib69

    virtualsakib69

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Check for new license. It will work.
     
  15. lazortech13

    lazortech13

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    HellaciousA, could you explain how you downloaded an older version of Unity hub? :eek: I'd love to do the same as I am having the same problem and need to have unity hub work so I can sign in to make ios builds.

    Also, a tourniquet/inelegant fix for those suffering this same problem: Delete unity hub, open your unity project manually, reinstall unity hub with your project open, then sign in. I am then able to use unity services on my project. Not a great solution, but the only one I've found so far.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2022
    unity_as7aMlMRHD7ujA likes this.
  16. amoraleite

    amoraleite

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Posts:
    41
    What works for me.

    I changed the internet connection to another. In my case I use my 4G of my cell phone. After this the project will open. Then back to official connect. Just one time I do this...
     
    dog_funtom, Donn999, moro-lg and 2 others like this.
  17. Omar_Flayyih

    Omar_Flayyih

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    thank you it works for me :)
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  18. Gengerguy

    Gengerguy

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I had a problem where every time I want to open a new project, it says it is an invalid file.

    If you know how to help me I would really appreciate it.
     
  19. QleTrimble

    QleTrimble

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    This is so bad. I can't even create a new project.

    I reinstalled Unity, and finally able to open/ create projects.

    I come back the next day, and can't open or create any project.... WTF... I disabled/enabled all firewall options for both node and unity. Still no luck.

    All solutions above did not work...
     
  20. xcy791923592

    xcy791923592

    Joined:
    May 4, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    anyone read this post may solve this problem.I got the same issue when i upgrade my unity hub, just reinstall the Unity editor so you can fixed it. I noticed there is a little change with the version number,which the old one is 2019 4.37 but the new one is 4.38,and 4.37 was gone in editor list, i think that is the matter.When i reinstall the 2019v but the new one, all the issues were gone.(contain 'can't open the project file')
     
    JPC_Codez likes this.
  21. Defauldt_Studio

    Defauldt_Studio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    This worked for me, I turned off my internet connection and it loaded instantly.
     
  22. simulism

    simulism

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Posts:
    14
    Turning off the internet worked for me also.
     
  23. Tadiwagdude

    Tadiwagdude

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    so im having this problem where as when i want to open a project it says this project is not valid
    PLEASE HELP
     
    SkipTheNarration likes this.
  24. mahito2932

    mahito2932

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2020
    Posts:
    115
    Just go to Library and delete this following files SourceAssetDB and SourceAssetDB-lock after that reinstall Unity hub

    P.S. Forgot to mention you need to delete ArtifactDB and ArtifactDB-lock either
    After that this should solve this problem regarding that because i tried everysingle method above but no one work for me
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2022
  25. Talmagett_Games

    Talmagett_Games

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I changed internet connection from one to another Wi-Fi and it worked
     
  26. X-Coffee-X

    X-Coffee-X

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    How To Fix
    1.Open Unity Hub
    2.Open Preferences/settings menu
    3.Click On licenses
    4.Return Personal License
    5.Re-ADD Personal License
    6.Open your Project or create a new one.
     
  27. The_Wb

    The_Wb

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Had the same issue where Unity Hub wouldn't open any project. Fixed by turning off Wi-Fi entirely
     
  28. Jyolasan

    Jyolasan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    every time I try to open a project the loading icon comes up next to it and an application at the bottom of my Mac screen pops up for a split second, then the loading icon goes on for a another minute and nothing opens, idk what to do, anyone got ideas.
     
  29. knoblemendesigns

    knoblemendesigns

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    not sure if this will work for everyone but when i tried to launch an old version of unity the loading screen would pop up look like its gonna do something then disappear. So i navigated to the fold where my project is opened "assets" then opened "Scenes" then double clicked a scene and windows said what do you want to open this with and i selected unity and it worked.
     
  30. THEVRCDEVIL

    THEVRCDEVIL

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    TY this saved my project!!!!!
     
  31. hk7686

    hk7686

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    I've found if my unity won't open, all I have to do is diconnect from my network, then it will start loading the project, after I see the splash screen, I just reconnect my wifi.
     
  32. ChauncyG

    ChauncyG

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    By remove, do you mean delete?
     
  33. vicoi2006

    vicoi2006

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    You're a life saver, thank you!
     
  34. mgroat

    mgroat

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This worked for me! Thanks X--Coffee-X!
     
    damioncms likes this.
  35. damioncms

    damioncms

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    This works for me.
     
  36. D2Oproductions

    D2Oproductions

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Help! I have suffered the same problem here, I tried all the solutions present but I still can't open up any new project I make.
     
  37. BennyChen

    BennyChen

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    This works!
     
  38. MoGro

    MoGro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you so much! It works right away! (I'm using Windows 10, Unity-Hub 3.4.1)
     
  39. haxior

    haxior

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I don't know why but this helped o_O
     
  40. SoulmateGDev

    SoulmateGDev

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Same problem here: trying to open my project from hub and it's get to 'loading scripts' and then nothing happens. I tried to remove Library folder and my project opened, but it was empty... If i restore folder - it wont open again.
    Nothing above helped.
     
  41. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,726
    Lost progress / project / work / stuff disappeared in Unity.

    This article is to help you when you have lost significant progress or work in your Unity project.

    It is designed to give you avenues of discovery and investigation.

    It is NOT a guarantee of restoring your lost work. It is NOT a substitute for proper IT / Data security procedures.

    To decide which parts are applicable to you, look for major bolded headings.

    EVERYTHING IS GONE, YOU CANNOT OPEN THE PROJECT

    Your project probably is still on your computer. Try a computer-wide search for some unique filenames that you know are in the project you think is gone.

    To start your search, one common file to all Unity projects is named
    ProjectSettings.asset


    Some things that might have happened:

    - you are not opening the project that you think you are
    - you are in the correct project but not opening the same scene you had open before
    - you dragged the project (or part of it) into the trash (intentionally or inadvertently)
    - you moved the project (or part of it) somewhere else (intentionally or inadvertently)
    - an overly-aggressive antivirus solution quarantined it because it saw code being compiled in there
    - you're using a directory sync like OneDrive or Dropbox... NEVER USE THESE SERVICES WITH UNITY!
    - something else??

    As I said, it's probably still all on your system to be found if you look in the right places.

    A typical Unity project will have at a minimum the following folders:

    Assets\
    ProjectSettings\
    Packages\


    EVERYTHING IS PRESENT BUT MY SCENE WINDOW IS BLANK

    Close Unity and make a full project backup RIGHT NOW. Do not do ANYTHING else until you back it up 100%.

    Ideally copy that backup to another computer, or back it up to another external hard drive entirely. This is just basic data processing best practices during data recovery operations.

    If you can see all the files and folders of your project, make sure you are opening the scene file you were working in.

    Once you have opened the scene, look in the hierarchy window, select an object and move the mouse over the Scene window and press F to focus that object.

    Additional notes:

    - ALWAYS use proper industrial grade source control (see below)
    - NEVER use Dropbox or any file sync mechanism in Unity.
    - NEVER move files within your project, except by doing it within Unity
    - ALWAYS be sure you are fully backed up before upgrading Unity

    SCRIPTS OR ASSETS ARE MISSING OR BLANK

    Some info about Missing script warnings, broken prefabs, GUIDs, renaming GUIDs, etc:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/problem-with-git-and-missing-scripts.1090876/#post-7024801
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/scr...ead-after-loading-editor.998413/#post-6487297
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/scr...ead-after-loading-editor.998413/#post-6488230

    EVERYTHING in Unity is connected to the above GUID, which is stored ONLY in the metafile, and hence why the metafiles ALWAYS MUST be source-controlled.

    When Renaming: It is super-easy to inadvertently change the GUID by renaming outside of Unity. Don't do that. Instead:

    - close Visual Studio (important!)
    - rename the file(s) in Unity
    - in Unity do Assets -> Open C# Project to reopen Visual Studio
    - now rename the actual classes, and MAKE SURE THE FILE NAMES DO NOT CHANGE!

    If you are NOT using source control while you do this, renaming files is an EXTREMELY dangerous process. Use source control at all times so that you can trivially revert if you miss a critical step and damage your project.

    UNITY CRASHES / FREEZES WHEN I OPEN MY PROJECT

    You must isolate if there is something wrong with your Unity installation, something wrong with your project, or perhaps just a corrupted import or asset database.

    First, ALWAYS back your project up. Then try deleting the
    Library/
    and
    Temp/
    folders that are within your project, the directories that are peers to the
    Assets
    and
    ProjectSettings
    folders.

    If that doesn't work it is time to bisect. Make a new empty project and get Unity to open that. If you cannot then it is time to fix your Unity installation, either by fully reinstalling or verifying it with the hub.

    Once you have an empty project open, begin copying over your project. Try the entire thing. If it crashes, try half of the project, then the other half, etc.

    As always, if you're using Windows, another "first thing to try" is to simply reboot the system. This often fixes typical Windows issues related to locked files and locked directories.

    ISSUES RELATED TO UPGRADING PROJECTS (eg, using a higher Unity version)

    Upgrading to a later version of Unity is a one-way process. Any project that has been updated should NEVER be reverted to an earlier version of Unity because this is expressly not supported by Unity. Doing so exposes your project to internal inconsistencies and breakage that may actually be impossible to repair.

    If you want to upgrade to a newer version of Unity, do not even consider it until you have placed your project fully under proper source control. This goes double or triple for non-LTS (Tech Stream) versions of Unity3D, which can be extremely unstable compared with LTS.

    Once you have source-controlled your project then you may attempt a Unity upgrade. Immediately after any attempted upgrade you should try to view as much of your project as possible, with a mind to looking for broken animations or materials or any other scripting errors or runtime issues.

    After an upgrade you should ALWAYS build to all targets you contemplate supporting: iOS and Android can be particularly finicky, and of course any third party libraries you use must also "play nice" with the new version of Unity. Since you didn't write the third party library, it is up to you to vet it against the new version to make sure it still works.

    If there are issues in your testing after upgrading Unity, ABANDON the upgrade, revert your project in source control and be back where you were pre-upgrade with the earlier version of Unity.

    Obviously the less you test after the upgrade the more chance you will have of an undiscovered critical issue.

    This risk of upgrading is entirely on you and must be considered whenever you contemplate a Unity version upgrade.

    Do not upgrade "just for fun" or you may become very unhappy.

    PROPERLY CONFIGURING AND USING ENTERPRISE SOURCE CONTROL

    I'm sorry you've had this issue. Please consider using proper industrial-grade enterprise-qualified source control in order to guard and protect your hard-earned work.

    Personally I use git (completely outside of Unity) because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up as well as free places to host your repo (BitBucket, Github, Gitlab, etc.).

    You can also push git repositories to other drives: thumb drives, USB drives, network drives, etc., effectively putting a complete copy of the repository there.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    I usually make a separate repository for each game, but I have some repositories with a bunch of smaller test games.

    Here is how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up an appropriate .gitignore file for Unity3D:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally setting Unity up (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity

    It is only simple economics that you must expend as much effort into backing it up as you feel the work is worth in the first place. Digital storage is so unbelievably cheap today that you can buy gigabytes of flash drive storage for about the price of a cup of coffee. It's simply ridiculous not to back up.

    If you plan on joining the software industry, you will be required and expected to know how to use source control.

    "Use source control or you will be really sad sooner or later." - StarManta on the Unity3D forum boards
     
  42. SoulmateGDev

    SoulmateGDev

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    I found out that it was antivirus SentinelOne which triggered on a string Bank bank = new Bank(); I delete the string - everything is working fine.
     
  43. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    Having that very same annoying issue on Windows now.
    No any of my project open... it's just loading from the HUB, then just stop.
    No a single Unity popup is showing.

    Trying to return the license as mentioned but it's not even working o_O...

    upload_2023-2-17_11-26-40.png
     
  44. 2ez4tt

    2ez4tt

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Still works in 2023. Thanks
     
  45. bobig2002

    bobig2002

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    BRoooo it worked, thank you so much
     
    AliAfrang likes this.
  46. sama-van

    sama-van

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    Found out that windows firewall was blocking UnityHub somehow...
    I may have clicked fast wrong on some random popup :D
     
  47. aqsanadeem82

    aqsanadeem82

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    There was some issue with my Unity License, It was About to expire and my project was not opening. I added the license again and it extended the expire date and The project Opened for me.
     
  48. ShadowlessStudios

    ShadowlessStudios

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Posts:
    16

    Just do this To Fix it

    1.Open Unity Hub
    2.Open Preference/Settings Menu
    3.Click On License
    4.Return Personal License
    5.Re-ADD Personal License
    6.TATA it should work now :)

    Worked for me I fixed this problem this way!
     
  49. aqsanadeem82

    aqsanadeem82

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Posts:
    76
    Worked for me too
     
  50. TccKaiCi

    TccKaiCi

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2021
    Posts:
    1

    I do this bc step 4 not for me, good luck if someone read this:

    1.Open Unity Hub
    2.Open Preferences/settings menu
    3.Click On licenses
    4.ADD
    5.Get a free personal license (or something else) -> Agree
    6.Open your Project or create a new one
     
    akashp1410 likes this.