Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity webcam not pausing?

Discussion in 'Documentation' started by bw92, Jan 18, 2020.

1. bw92

bw92

Hey all,

I'm currently following the Unity documentation about pausing a webcam (with some slight adjustments as I have 2 cameras in my laptop) and for some reason the webcam does not pause. I'm fairly new to Unity but I've fooled around with it for a couple of days and cannot seem to get this thing to work. I've tried implementing it with buttons too but I got the same result.

Could someone point me in the right direction?

Here is the code (Almost identical to the example in the documentation):

Code (CSharp):
    1. // Starts a camera and assigns the texture to the current renderer.
    2. // Pauses the camera when the "Pause" button is clicked and released.
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4. using System.Collections;
    6. public class TestGUI : MonoBehaviour
    7. {
    8.     public WebCamTexture webcamTexture;
    10.     void Start()
    11.     {
    12.         webcamTexture = new WebCamTexture();
    13.         Renderer renderer = GetComponent<Renderer>();
    14.         renderer.material.mainTexture = webcamTexture;
    15.         WebCamDevice[] devices = WebCamTexture.devices; // gets all cameras
    16.         webcamTexture.deviceName = devices[1].name; // Select back camera
    17.         webcamTexture.Play();
    18.     }
    20.     public void OnGUI()
    21.     {
    22.         if (webcamTexture.isPlaying)
    23.             if (GUILayout.Button("Pause"))
    24.                 webcamTexture.Pause();
    26.             else if (GUILayout.Button("Play"))
    27.                 webcamTexture.Play();
    28.     }
    29. }

2. DominiqueLrx

DominiqueLrx

Unity Technologies

Hi!