Search Unity

Unity Virgin With Programmers Paralysis

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Foggy-Noggin, Mar 6, 2016.

1. Foggy-Noggin

Foggy-Noggin

Hello, I'm new to Unity. I've spent a better part of two weeks watching the instructional videos. My head is so full of new terminology and concepts that I only partially understand. Couple that with no experience using the editor and it's daunting myriad of tabs, panes, and properties to deal with, has my head spinning. It seems I can't get started...

I've chosen a simplistic 2D top-down, non-scrolling game to start with. I learn by doing, the instructional videos are great for an overview, but after watching several dozen I feel too much time is spent on some concepts and no time spent on others. Whatever it is, I can't seem to get much out of them, or at least enough to even begin.

I've broken down my simple game into a series of objectives (create all game objects, animate objects, react to object interaction). The first object I need to create is the background. The game will have MANY levels and each level will have a unique background made up of some of 24 different PNGs each with an alpha channel. Since each level will require a new compositing of the images a script is necessary. This is just a background image and there is no animation or interaction with the game objects.

Simply put, 'How Do I Create A Background Image Comprised Of Arbitrary Images And Add This Image To A Background.' I searched in Answers and on the Forum but didn't find anything to help. I feel very stuck and stupid right now, if I'm struggling already, how am I going to do the projects I really want to do?

Any help will be appreciated.

2. aer0ace

aer0ace

Have you tried clicking on GameObject > 2D > Sprite, importing an image, changing the Texture Type to Sprite, and then applying the sprite image to the Sprite object in the Hierarchy?

EDIT: