Search Unity

Bug Unity Version Control don't work

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by eduardoromeueberts, May 16, 2023.

  1. eduardoromeueberts

    eduardoromeueberts

    Joined:
    May 8, 2023
    Posts:
    7
    I am working on a project that is shared using Unity VCS, but now every time I open unity it gives me the following error:
    upload_2023-5-15_23-37-18.png

    Unity loads up but the Version Control tab don't work
    upload_2023-5-15_23-38-30.png

    Since the project is in the cloud, I tried to download it again from source control, but it can't download too:
    upload_2023-5-15_23-45-3.png

    I don't know what to do with these errors. I also installed the editor again but nothing changed.
    I really need some help because I can't work anymore before solving this.
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,745
    I highly recommend getting your project OUT of Plastic SCM immediately. Set it up in proper source control.

    If you need help getting it out, check here:

    https://forum.unity.com/forums/unity-version-control.605/

    PROPERLY CONFIGURING AND USING ENTERPRISE SOURCE CONTROL

    I'm sorry you've had this issue. Please consider using proper industrial-grade enterprise-qualified source control in order to guard and protect your hard-earned work.

    Personally I use git (completely outside of Unity) because it is free and there are tons of tutorials out there to help you set it up as well as free places to host your repo (BitBucket, Github, Gitlab, etc.).

    You can also push git repositories to other drives: thumb drives, USB drives, network drives, etc., effectively putting a complete copy of the repository there.

    As far as configuring Unity to play nice with git, keep this in mind:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/prefab-links-keep-getting-dumped-on-git-pull.646600/#post-7142306

    I usually make a separate repository for each game, but I have some repositories with a bunch of smaller test games.

    Here is how I use git in one of my games, Jetpack Kurt:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/2-steps-backwards.965048/#post-6282497

    Using fine-grained source control as you work to refine your engineering:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/whe...grammer-example-in-text.1048739/#post-6783740

    Share/Sharing source code between projects:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/your-techniques-to-share-code-between-projects.575959/#post-3835837

    Setting up an appropriate .gitignore file for Unity3D:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/removing-il2cpp_cache-from-project.1084607/#post-6997067

    Generally the ONLY folders you should ever source control are:

    Assets/
    ProjectSettings/
    Packages/

    NEVER source control Library/ or Temp/ or Logs/
    NEVER source control anything from Visual Studio (.vs, .csproj, none of that noise)

    Setting git up with Unity (includes above .gitignore concepts):

    https://thoughtbot.com/blog/how-to-git-with-unity

    It is only simple economics that you must expend as much effort into backing it up as you feel the work is worth in the first place. Digital storage is so unbelievably cheap today that you can buy gigabytes of flash drive storage for about the price of a cup of coffee. It's simply ridiculous not to back up.

    If you plan on joining the software industry, you will be required and expected to know how to use source control.

    "Use source control or you will be really sad sooner or later." - StarManta on the Unity3D forum boards
     
  3. eduardoromeueberts

    eduardoromeueberts

    Joined:
    May 8, 2023
    Posts:
    7
    Thank you, this will be helpful in the future, but for now I really need to solve this issue.

    An important (bad) update: I cannot install any editor version anymore:
    upload_2023-5-16_18-31-33.png

    I am wondering if it is something wrong in my PC, it have suficient disk space but windows has updated a day before this. Do you have any ideia of what could it be?
     
  4. eduardoromeueberts

    eduardoromeueberts

    Joined:
    May 8, 2023
    Posts:
    7
    Well, I ended up recovering my PC and the project works fine now, thanks.