Search Unity

Unity Universal Render Pipeline causing massive slow down on 2d Mobile Project

Discussion in 'Universal Render Pipeline' started by tuqire, Feb 11, 2020.

1. tuqire

tuqire

Hi,

I hope you are all well.

I have been building a 2D game in Unity and it was going great. I was building it on my Pixel 4XL phone and getting frame rates of about 60fps. However, since updating to Unity .3, and introducing Universal Render Pipeline, the frame rate has dropped right down to about 10 fps. I am quite new to Unity - this is my first game - is there some obvious setting that is supposed to be off / on for 2D mobile games when using Universal Pipeline?

I have stripped the scene right back to have only 3 sprites on scene with some colliders and basic scripts and I am still having the same issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Devil_Inside likes this.
  2. Chris_Chu

Chris_Chu

Unity Technologies

Are you using the 2D Renderer or the Forward Renderer?

3. yuanxing_cai

yuanxing_cai

Unity Technologies

Hi! To tell what's going on, we also need to know the which version of Unity and which version of URP you are using.

4. tuqire

tuqire

Hi,

Thanks for the replies.

I am using the 2D renderer.

I am using Unity version "2019.3.0f3 Personal" and URP version "7.1.6".

5. yuanxing_cai

yuanxing_cai

Unity Technologies

We had a big performance regression but that was fixed in 7.1.3, so what you're experiencing is something else. Can you send us your simple repro project (the one with only 3 sprites)?

6. tuqire

tuqire

Hi,

Sorry for the delay.

I pushed the stripped down game to: https://github.com/tuqire/scaled-back-unity

The scene is made up of 3 sprites and the player animation. I've removed all the excess prefabs and sprites. I left some basic scripts in there, but I can also remove them if needed.

The render pipeline stuff is in "Assets/Render Pipeline".

7. yuanxing_cai

yuanxing_cai

Unity Technologies

Thanks! I'll take a look.