Search Unity

Bug Unity.Transport (v1.0.0 pre3) can't bind to any port on some players' machine

Discussion in 'Unity Transport' started by BobFlame, Oct 8, 2021.

  1. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    The error occurs at Unity.Networking.Transport.BaselibNetworkInterface.Bind() when bind with loopback address 127.0.0.1 - 3333 or 60111. On windows standalone 64 (windows 10).

    Code (CSharp):
    1. baselib.m_Socket = Binding.Baselib_RegisteredNetwork_Socket_UDP_Create(
    2.                 &localAddress,
    3.                 Binding.Baselib_NetworkAddress_AddressReuse.Allow,
    4.                 checked((uint)configuration.sendQueueCapacity),
    5.                 checked((uint)configuration.receiveQueueCapacity),
    6.                 &error);
    configuration.sendQueueCapacity receiveQueueCapacity are default, return error with code -1, UnexpectedError.

    I have fixing this bug for a week, could anyone help?
     
  2. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
  3. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    And it also failed at connecting to other address, which need to binding local address to AnyIPv4.
     
  4. ExtraCat

    ExtraCat

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Posts:
    52
    Given the total lack of replies from the unity developers on this forum for many months, we can presume unity transport is completely abandoned by now.
     
  5. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    Haaaah, please dont. But Im afraid it's so.
     
  6. luke-unity

    luke-unity

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Posts:
    306
    Sorry about that, Unity transport is not abandoned at all.
    @BobFlame can you file a bug report via the bug reporter 'Help->Report a Bug' in the menu of the Unity editor.
     
    ExtraCat likes this.
  7. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    Omg......Thanks replying! You are arriving so in time.
    I am almost giving up fixing it and about to use socket to implement a thin network layer.
    I have report the bug (Case 1372230). I'm looking forward to it.
     
  8. ArjanBroosSioux

    ArjanBroosSioux

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2021
    Posts:
    17
    I'm running into the same problem. Any way I could get insights into a possible solution? Searching for the case number on the issue tracker shows only one issue and it's not related to this (and has a totally different issue id...)
     
  9. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441