Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We have updated the language to the Editor Terms based on feedback from our employees and community. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity.Transport (v1.0.0 pre3) can't bind to any port on some players' machine

Discussion in 'Unity Transport' started by BobFlame, Oct 8, 2021.

  1. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    The error occurs at Unity.Networking.Transport.BaselibNetworkInterface.Bind() when bind with loopback address 127.0.0.1 - 3333 or 60111. On windows standalone 64 (windows 10).

    Code (CSharp):
    1. baselib.m_Socket = Binding.Baselib_RegisteredNetwork_Socket_UDP_Create(
    2.                 &localAddress,
    3.                 Binding.Baselib_NetworkAddress_AddressReuse.Allow,
    4.                 checked((uint)configuration.sendQueueCapacity),
    5.                 checked((uint)configuration.receiveQueueCapacity),
    6.                 &error);
    configuration.sendQueueCapacity receiveQueueCapacity are default, return error with code -1, UnexpectedError.

    I have fixing this bug for a week, could anyone help?
     
  2. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
  3. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    And it also failed at connecting to other address, which need to binding local address to AnyIPv4.
     
  4. ExtraCat

    ExtraCat

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Posts:
    52
    Given the total lack of replies from the unity developers on this forum for many months, we can presume unity transport is completely abandoned by now.
     
  5. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    Haaaah, please dont. But Im afraid it's so.
     
  6. luke-unity

    luke-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Posts:
    306
    Sorry about that, Unity transport is not abandoned at all.
    @BobFlame can you file a bug report via the bug reporter 'Help->Report a Bug' in the menu of the Unity editor.
     
    ExtraCat likes this.
  7. BobFlame

    BobFlame

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Posts:
    95
    Omg......Thanks replying! You are arriving so in time.
    I am almost giving up fixing it and about to use socket to implement a thin network layer.
    I have report the bug (Case 1372230). I'm looking forward to it.
     
  8. ArjanBroosSioux

    ArjanBroosSioux

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2021
    Posts:
    17
    I'm running into the same problem. Any way I could get insights into a possible solution? Searching for the case number on the issue tracker shows only one issue and it's not related to this (and has a totally different issue id...)
     
  9. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    382