Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Unity TextMeshPro hides on save.

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by Rishran, May 28, 2021.

  1. Rishran

    Rishran

    Joined:
    May 23, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    I was using Text Mesh Pro for my project, when I noticed when I save, it hides the text.

    I have a Mask applied.

    There is a way to fix it, by disabling and enabling the mask.

    I think this is a bug, anyone tell me if they are having the same problems.

    Can you get this fixed ASAP, as I don't want to fix it every time I save.

    Thanks!

    Before:
    Screen Shot 2021-05-28 at 5.32.14 PM.png
    After:
    Screen Shot 2021-05-28 at 5.32.18 PM.png


    (Sorry for poor quality)
     
  2. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    6,596
    This is an old issue that seems to have resurfaced in 2021.x. This is not specific to TMP but rather internal texture management and Canvas system.

    I will check with the relevant team at Unity this week to try to get an update on this and follow up once I have more information.
     
  3. Rishran

    Rishran

    Joined:
    May 23, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    What when did this issue occur?

    I am using an old version of unity (2020.3.9f1), and that might be the problem!
     
  4. Stephan_B

    Stephan_B

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Posts:
    6,596
    Thus far I have only seen reports of this in 2021 when saving a scene. Perhaps whatever change resulted in this old issue coming back might have been back ported to 2020.3.

    Are you having text objects disappear when saving a scene or at runtime? If runtime, this is likely the result of having multiple text objects that share the same material preset but being rendered in a mixture of rendering space like Screenspace, Worldspace and Overlay. The solution for that is to use a separate set of material preset for these different spaces. There should be several detailed posts about this on the forum.
     
  5. Rishran

    Rishran

    Joined:
    May 23, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Sorry it's been a while, I took a short break!

    No, it's when I save. I don't think it's a major problem at the moment, as I have stopped working with UI and especially TextMeshPro.

    Thanks and have a good rest of the week!