Search Unity

Unity Student Plan for Commercial Games

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HunGARE, Mar 8, 2020.

1. HunGARE

HunGARE

Hi.

I am a college student who is super excited about the Unity Student Plan! However, I am concerned about the terms of use.

If I use Unity for classes, and in addition create commercial games that I distribute/sell outside of school, would the Unity Student Plan still be allowed for both uses? I emailed someone at Unity and she was helpful in saying that it essentially works like the free plan, where you only need to upgrade to Plus once you reach $100k revenue per year. I just wanted to get another opinion just to be sure. Thank you!

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

edit: (This is outdated info, see later comments)

You should ask this question to Unity support instead of the forum. Though I don't see anything in the TOS for the Student license which restrict commercial use. You could easily though just get an additional Unity Personal license and switch between the two as needed if you were concerned. Unity Pro has hardly anything today which is not included in Unity Personal. The two primary features of Plus/Pro over Personal is the optional dark editor theme and the ability to disable the Unity splash screen in your builds.

https://unity3d.com/legal/terms-of-service/software

Last edited: Mar 10, 2021
    HunGARE likes this.
  3. HunGARE

HunGARE

Thanks for the reply!

4. MileSplit

MileSplit

Hey did unity support get back to you? I dont want to bug them if they already answered it :)

5. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

edit: (This is outdated info, see later comments)

The Unity software terms of use now includes the following. It was updated a couple days after this thread originated. I would assume this part was added, as I had not seen it prior. But I cannot be 100% sure.

https://unity3d.com/legal/terms-of-service/software

Last edited: Mar 10, 2021
    Aviryx and Ryiah like this.
  6. anaraliyev1010