Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Unity stability on macOS Sonoma?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by QuantumCalzone, Sep 26, 2023.

  1. QuantumCalzone

    QuantumCalzone

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    262
    Is anyone having any issues with Unity on macOS Sonoma? If so what Unity version are you using?
     
  2. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    Interested in this too. Anybody use Unity 2021 LTS on Sonoma yet?
    Scared to update -- have had problems in the past updates with Unity.
     
  3. QuantumCalzone

    QuantumCalzone

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    262
    I found a Reddit post mentioning things were okay on Unity version 2022.3.10f with Xcode 15 here
     
  4. Wrymnn

    Wrymnn

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Posts:
    368
    Would love to know this as well. There was critical issue when Monterey came out, where Unity started stuttering horribly after few mins of usage, it took Unity months to fix this issue.
     
  5. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    my HDRP projects can not be launched after I upgrade to sonoma. Think twice before you upgrade your mac os
     
  6. chrisbui

    chrisbui

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    After Sonoma upgrade, project initialization is frozen at "Initialize Asset Database".

    I tried the following versions with same frozen result.
    2021.3.24f1
    2022.3.9f1 LTS
    2022.3.10f1 LTS
     
  7. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
  8. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,512
    The OS is starting to nag me for an update so it would be nice to know, officially, if Unity runs well on Sonoma.

    (also, let me express how weird it is that Unity isn't on top of these things and they don't, at the very least, have an announcement ready by the time a new major OS is released)
     
    QuantumCalzone likes this.
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    I will check! So far from what I can see from internal chatter, nobody is reporting these issues and multiple people upgraded, but it could be they upgraded to an earlier beta and this was only introduced in a recent Sonoma build.

    Needless to say we'll fix it.

    EDIT: are you folks on Intel or Apple silicon Macs? And if the latter, are you running the native or the emulated editor?
     
    sameng likes this.
  10. chrisbui

    chrisbui

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Specs
    2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
    AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB
    Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB
    32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
    Sonoma 14.0 (23A344)
     
  11. chrisbui

    chrisbui

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I submitted a bug report but (case IN-56242)... I did not submit a project though. I created a new 3D Core (URP) test project that opens fine with 2022.2.10f1. I am trying to get a simple project that fails to submit with report. Thanks TZ for looking into this.

    EDIT: Final solution was to remove projects and restore from backup. That worked.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2023
    sameng likes this.
  12. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,512
    For what it is worth, from a quick 5 minute testing Sonoma seems to work fine with Unity 2021 on a M2 Silicon Mac.
     
  13. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Indeed, a few of us just tested it internally on M1 and M2 Macs and couldn't reproduce, on both URP and HDRP projects. So either it's limited to Intel machines only or there's something in the project that triggers this behaviour. We will try to find what causes it, but if anyone is willing to submit a project that exhibits this, it would help expedite a fix.
     
    unity_7JndxSaDfDSu5w and sameng like this.
  14. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    What version of Unity are you on?
    Thanks all for taking the plunge.

    Is there confirmation of Unity 2021 LTS being okay? (M1, Silicon Editor, 2021.3 LTS, Built-In-RP)

    I really want to update my machine to fix the Crackling Audio Stuttering bug, but I'm afraid of risking my main dev machine -- my other machine is too old to update to Sonoma... dang it

    Edit: Sorry, didn't read properly. Are you on Built-In or SRP in Unity 2021? Do you know if the Crackling Audio Bug is fixed (if you had that problem before?) Thank you for going in.
     
  15. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    I updated my Intel MacBook to Sonoma and I am unable to reproduce using a few projects I have either. I tried both 2022.3.10f1 and 2021.3.30f1 :(. We'll give it some more rigorous testing next week, but a project that reproduces this would still be very useful.
     
    sameng and unity_7JndxSaDfDSu5w like this.
  16. joolieyoungson

    joolieyoungson

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    I upgraded to sonoma yesterday and just tried to open a unity project (2022.3.5f1) and it sticks at ‘Initialize Asset Database’
     
  17. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,512
    2021.3.30f
    I mean, I can tell you that so far it seems to work fine on my config (M2. Silicon Editor, 2021.3.30f, Built-In-RP), BUT, since this could be a real productivity killer, I can't tell you your set up and project are going to be okay.
    Not sure which crackling audio bug you are talking about. There was one that Unity did with Unity 2020, which I believe was fixed with Unity 2021.

    Other than that there was a less common audio crackling bug (that wasn't really Unity related) where audio would crackle in high CPU situations (like rendering something in modo), I haven't quite checked if that still happens.

    In any case, I haven't experienced any crackles so far, but also keep in mind that I'm not using Unity's audio anymore, I just use FMOD studio.
     
    sameng likes this.
  18. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    Thank you for checking. That's basically my setup.
    Do you think subjectively that Sonoma about the same performance-wise to prev versions?
    Hopefully fingers crossed it runs well--please keep us updated if you come across any findings or issues.

    I purchased a base-model M2 mac mini to try my project on (and as a build machine) since I'm so tired of this audio crackling bug (using built-in Unity audio). I'll update with my findings on my project as well.
     
  19. joolieyoungson

    joolieyoungson

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    Tried opening a unity project on my mac today and it opened first time :)
     
  20. hachihao792001

    hachihao792001

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    For my case, my game always crash when built using a mac with macOS Sonoma. After a bit of digging, I discovered that because Unity Ads try to talk to weixin - WeChat, a Chinese messaging app, which is also having a problem with macOS 14: https://developers.weixin.qq.com/community/enterprisewechat/doc/000e044249c6b89576dfb84115b800

    I know Unity Ads is the reason because when I remove it and build the game again, it doesn't crash anymore. So if your iOS games use Unity Ads, don't update your mac to Sonoma yet.
     
  21. TJBRB

    TJBRB

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    Try to run a 2018 Unity on Sonoma. Run's, but just throws errors and screen corruption all the way.
     
  22. TJBRB

    TJBRB

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    8
    I restored fro a backup and it just started working again. Strnage
     
  23. unity_FC17470CE25EF83C0BCF

    unity_FC17470CE25EF83C0BCF

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Can't open my projects (2021.3.21f1) and (2021.3.4f1). Stuck in initialising.

    DO NOT UPDATE
     
  24. aducceschi

    aducceschi

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2022
    Posts:
    39
    Changing my Unity version from 2022.3.8f1 to 2022.3.10f1 finally allowed me to open my projects.

    Intel Mac mini (2018).
     
  25. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    I use an M2 Max Chip Macbook Pro. The project crashes even if it is a new HDRP project just created.
     
  26. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Can you share any additional information, like editor logs and such?
     
  27. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Sure. I created a new project, and here is the logs folder
     

    Attached Files:

  28. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    And it crashed on any HDRP project on any version from 2022 to 2023, including beta and alpha
     
  29. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Hey, the zip file you sent doesn't contain the editor log. It should be located at ~/Library/Logs/Unity/Editor.log.
     
  30. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Hi, here is the editor.log. I renamed the extension to .log because .log cannot be uploaded here. Let me know if anything else I can do to help.
     

    Attached Files:

  31. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    The log shows Unity shut down properly, rather than crashed. Was this log taken after you opened another project? Can you create a new HDRP project to make it crash and capture the log after that?
     
  32. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Hi. Thanks for checking this for me. I recorded two videos of what I did and what happened. The first video shows how the project crashed right after it was created. The second video shows how it crashed when I tried to open it after it was created.
    Video 1 Link: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/cvba...h-01.mp4?rlkey=bdyhs5xq2pgik9gaz9iia5u87&dl=0
    Video 2 Link: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/2qsr...h-02.mp4?rlkey=fdrjvzndxnz1k8gkvkyyzmbki&dl=0
     

    Attached Files:

  33. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Whoa, that is not a crash! It seems something is causing the editor to think it should quit. The dead giveaway is this dialog:

    upload_2023-10-12_13-9-58.png

    Does it pop up reliably when creating a new project? If so, can you create a project, wait for this dialog to pop up, then find Unity in Activity monitor, select "Sample Process", save the report and upload it here? That might give us a clue why the editor thinks it needs to close.

    Also I'm curious what happens if you click the Cancel button.
     
  34. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Yes, it pops up reliably when creating a new project. Could you please check the second link? It crashes when I try to open the new project.
     
  35. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Yeah I saw that - the dialog didn't pop up when you opened an already created project. But as far as I can tell in the first video you pressed "Save" so I'm wondering what happens when you press cancel.

    I'm sorry for all these questions but this issue is really bizarre and we have no idea why this is happening. So I'm just trying to get as much information as possible so that we could figure it out. That's why I also asked you to sample the process: that might give us a hint why Unity wants to quit.
     
    sameng likes this.
  36. unity_37A23933493894294093

    unity_37A23933493894294093

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    For Unity Version 2022.3.11f1, the dialog pops up reliably. Click Save will quit Unity, but Cancel will stay in Unity. (after closing the project, no way to open it)
    For Unity Version 2022.3.10f1, the dialog pops up from time to time and with a similar situation.
    Here I record a video of how I sample the process; I hope it can help: [https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/jy0o8144ked5srxdseytz/Unity2022.3.10f1-HDRP-Crash.mp4?rlkey=5ufz8hl03adnkmzxivc1uvt2c&dl=0]
    I guess there might be wrong with the HDRP package. I tried to upgrade/downgrade the project or delete some folders like Library/ to make it launch successfully. Sometimes, it works when these actions cause the HDRP package to be lost. And I can launch a damaged project and reinstall the HDRP package.
     

    Attached Files:

  37. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,628
    Can you first make the dialog open in 2022.3.11f1 and sample while the dialog is open? Sampling while the project is loading isn't very useful, it just shows normal editor startup sequence.
     
  38. MidnightGameDeveloper

    MidnightGameDeveloper

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Posts:
    122
    Has anyone tested Unity 2020.3.*-48 on macOS Sonoma yet?
    Some of my older Android Projects are made with Unity 2020 and I would like to keep using the same version for these projects.
     
  39. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    I've updated to the latest version of Sonoma by getting a new machine (M3 Max)

    Fortunately it's mostly stable while working.
    However, I am now running into a hard freeze every time I let my mac sleep for a while.

    Repro steps:

    1. Open project and work for a while.
    2. Close laptop and leave closed for a while. (Perhaps > 30 min?)
    3. Open laptop and press Play in unity editor.

    Unity freezes on play mode.

    This has happened to me about 10 times so far.
    It does not ever happen on my Monterey machine. It's the same project.
     
    Wrymnn likes this.
  40. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    This seems almost 100% reproducible in my project.
    Hard freeze on playmode happening every single day when I open my laptop. A restart of the editor fixes this. I have to force quit the editor every morning.

    It works fine after this, but I must admit it feels low quality and janky...

    I'm on 2021.3.32 LTS.
     
  41. SmashHighlights

    SmashHighlights

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Sorry for the unrelated question but I'm looking to buy an M3 Max machine. Do you mean performance is janky in the editor, or just because of the crash? Thanks!
     
  42. sameng

    sameng

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Posts:
    184
    Performance is good. Don't get me wrong, it's not that bad.
    It just feels unpolished cause random things break and the editor crashes etc.

    The Max CPU doesn't do that much more since Unity isn't very multithreaded, but it does have more GPU cores which help quite a bit.
     
  43. Zer0ne7

    Zer0ne7

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for this post. I am looking to by a MacBook Pro M3 Max and was curious if Unity will work. What version of Unity are you using?
     
  44. JHSV

    JHSV

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    Our users running our app on M1 Macs with OS versions Sonoma 14.2 and 14.3 beta are unable to interact with the app and must force quit. The project was built on other machines with other OS versions. The main thing we noticed was that the build was run by users on M1 Macs with Sonoma 14.2 and 14.3 beta. Could the Unity version make a difference? We developed in Unity 2021.1.24f1. Have other people noticed these issues with their builds or was it mostly in the editor for you guys? Has any progress been made toward fixing these issues recently?