Search Unity

Unity Shader Compiler? Offline? Run time? How does it take care of difference between each GPU?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by bobozzz, Jul 18, 2018.

1. bobozzz

bobozzz

Hi! Forgive me about asking a question that is so general :) I am a beginner to Unity and confused about how Unity compiler works.

OpenGL compiles the sources at run time. The driver of each GPU can compile shader and generate binary code specifically for its hardware.

My understanding about Unity is (Now sure if this is right): Unity has its own offline software compiler. On shader import time, Unity will do some minimal processing, and then generate either assembly code, or low-level optimized GLSL code. Then when you build the game, all the shaders will be fully compiled to binary code (not sure about this) based on the target platform you choose.
    (reference: https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/class-Shader.html, Under Shader Compilation Details)

Then how does Unity take care of the difference between each GPU hardware, for example, AMD and Nvidia card. Do all the hardware support pre-built binary shaders? It seems like D3D does and OpenGL doesn't.

Thanks!

2. bgolus

bgolus

For platforms that use HLSL, the shader code is directly compiled to the target (D3D11 or D3D12) and the resulting compiled shader are shipped with build.

For pretty much all other platforms Unity uses a HLSL bytecode cross compiler:
    https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/HLSLcc

For some platforms (ie: OpenGL in its many flavors) the resulting shader is GLSL text and compiled at load time, as per the OpenGL spec for shader handling. For most other platforms they cross compile or otherwise translate the HLSL code and recompile the shader for that platform. Note, that cross compiler takes compiled HLSL shaders as input, not HLSL code!