Search Unity

Question Unity Script Asset References in VSCode?

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by ryanrondon, Jun 17, 2022.

  1. ryanrondon

    ryanrondon

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    In Visual Studio, there's a label on top of Monobehaviour/Component classes that can search for its references in Unity Prefabs and Scenes.

    Is it possible to have this feature in VSCode?
    If not, I'm curious as to why - what sort of integration does Visual Studio do better than VSCode?
     
  2. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    5,909
    That question isn‘t really related to Unity. VS is a (commercial) programmer‘s IDE, VSCode is a free general-purpose text editor that‘s heavily customizable via plugins. While you can use VSCode as a lightweight IDE replacement you will not get all the convenience features of a proper IDE. The only way you can get said feature in VSCode is if there were a plugin for that.
     
  3. MihaPro_CarX

    MihaPro_CarX

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    You need to enable the editor.codeLens setting
     
  4. mohamedkaram09

    mohamedkaram09

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    I don't have this label in my VS scripts for Unity and I need it badly. How can I enable it ?
    I have VS 2022 and Unity 2020.3.9f1.
     
  5. novemberi

    novemberi

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    ShantiB95 likes this.
  6. ShantiB95

    ShantiB95

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    Hey, great endeavour!
    Just installed it, does the work!