Search Unity

Unity scamy sales call

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kreso, Oct 12, 2018.

1. kreso

kreso

I've noticed Unity is trying to sell it's services lately, trying different ways. Being a solo indie developer, I'm probably not your target audience but Unity needs to make a living somehow.

However, I was a target of a Unity sales call few days ago. A person called Zachary called me to my phone (I still wonder how he got the number and who gave him the 'OK' to call). He talked to me without revealing he works on sales team (he actually mislead me by saying he is a tech person, and will connect me with another tech engineer by the name of Carlos - who I looked up on LinkedIn had a title of 'inside sales'). The purpose of the call was supposed to be 'how can they help me with my tech problems'. Very, very misleading.
    When I wanted confirmation before jumping on 2nd call 'Is this a sales call of any kind' so to not waste anyones time, I never received a response (even though before that Zachary was extremely responsive). Not to blame Zachary, he's trying to do his best, but perhaps the priorities inside the organization are not that clear?
    Anyhow, I just wanted to say that I appreciate Unity as a game engine immensely, and want to help you guys stay great by saying that actions like this make me trust in the Unity as a brand less.

Kind regards

angrypenguin and Martin_H like this.
  2. Vryken

Vryken

I'm skeptical about this actually being a call from the Unity Team.

3. kreso

kreso

I know what you mean, I was skeptical too.
    The guy emailed me from @unity.com.
    Also I sent a support ticket to support@unity.com, and they confirmed the guy is on their sales team.

angrypenguin likes this.
  4. Deleted User

Deleted User

And this is why I never answer the phone...

(not that this has happened to me mind you but others do such things)

GarBenjamin likes this.
  5. hard_code

hard_code