Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Remote 5 not working from Mac to Android

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by edgarsanmartin, Jan 15, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. edgarsanmartin

    edgarsanmartin

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hello!

    I’m trying to port my iOS game to Android but I am unable to get Unity Remote to work with Android, although it had been reliable while I was working on it with iOS.

    I’ve downloaded the Android modules with the sub folders filled with the SDK and other relevant folders. Ran adb devices on my Mac and the Android is shown to be connected and authorized. I set up Remote from the Project Settings >> Editor to run on all android devices. Yet, it still won’t show up.

    If it helps, I’m using a Visible R2 phone, which uses Android 8 (Oreo).

    Any input will be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. edgarsanmartin

    edgarsanmartin

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Just realized this is probably not the right thread to post this question ‍♂️
     
  3. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    14,446
  4. edgarsanmartin

    edgarsanmartin

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you man, I’ll check it out!
     
  5. edgarsanmartin

    edgarsanmartin

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hey, android development and specifically Unity Remote 5 does work on R2 phones!

    What solved my problem was looking at these docs:

    https://docs.unity3d.com/540/Documentation/Manual/android-sdksetup.html


    Essentially, I needed to install Android Studio and its SDK (Unity's modules for downloading the SDK & NDK, and OpenJDK are needed as well, but their SDK download was what was giving me the problem).

    Then, you go to Unity, click on preferences and go to the "External Tools" tab.

    Uncheck "Android SDK Tools Installed with Unity (recommended)" and input the path that Android Studio's SDK is located at. For my mac, the path was "/Users/<<your_username>>/Library/Android/sdk", if you need help finding it.

    Then, it was all set and I was able to Test my Unity game on my R2 phone!

    Hope this helps anyone who comes across this problem, especially on this phone! Took me all day today to solve it.
     
    Dark_Horion, eechungiap and vd_unity like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.