Search Unity

  1. We would like to hear your feedback about Unity and our products. Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Video Unity Recorder update

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ans_unity, Dec 19, 2017.

  1. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @Spierek and anyone that reported this,

    Really sorry that such a trivial change took so long to land, and totally aware the package makes it worst.
    The fix is actually on its way in v2.0.2. The version is currently being QA-ed and contain several bug fixes and clean-up.
    So stay tuned, should be soon.

    Thanks for your patience !
     
    Spierek likes this.
  2. Spierek

    Spierek

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks for the quick response :) Looking forward to the update.
     
  3. TheoSabattie

    TheoSabattie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Posts:
    14
    Hello',

    A lot of platform for game publication ask several resolutions (Android, iOs, ...)

    I was hoping that solution allowed to take several screenshot with several resolutions.
    Unfortunately, in Unity 2018, if I setup several Image Record Settings with different resolutions, that records several image with the same resolution.
    In Unity 2019, the resolution are ok, but the camera and UI do not match the resolution. I get a mirrored and cut result.

    Do you plane to improve your tool allowing taking several resolution correctly?

    ----------------------------------

    An other issue, if we use 3rd party for the sound, the audio is not registered. (We use FMOD for a project).
    Do you plane to register sound system in a future version ?

    Thanks in advance.

    Théo Sabattié.
     
  4. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hi @TheoSabattie,

    Could use active camera targets be an option for you ?
    The resolution limitation is only with the GameView that uses screenshot API function that shares the render buffer.
     
  5. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    Hi,

    1-Is it possible to record the input (keyboard keys) while recording animation with the unity recorder? I am trying to record my in game play animation but unity recorder seems to record the animation without the root transform. Meaning that my WASD keys aren't record at all so the animation stays in place with no transform.

    2-Is it possible to record the camera motion with the unity recorder? First test aren't really good. :)


    My goal would be to use a realtime controller to move an animal for example and record all motions and "camera follows" at the same time. Once this animation and camera are recorded, I could use a video capture asset to render the scene to video.

    Thank you for shedding the light on this.
     
  6. SlingShotVR

    SlingShotVR

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Please update the recorder! It doesn't work properly with versions 2018 or 2019!!I don't understand why software that doesn't work properly is being released at all!!!
     
  7. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @SlingShotVR,

    Any chance you are still using the Asset Store version of Recorder ?
    If so, due to Timeline becoming a package, this deprecated version is only compatible with Unity < 2018.3.

    So please, use the package manager version. /!\ You will need to enable "show preview package" in package manager windows to be able to see the version.

    If not, please provide more information such as errors, OS version, and precise Unity / Recorder version you tested.
    There are currently identified bugs that are being worked on but Recorder is being stabilized at each release. We also have people using it every day.
    You are not supposed to be totally blocked by some issues. So let us know, ideally in a new thread with a recorder tag.

    Thanks !
     
  8. tonOnWu

    tonOnWu

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Posts:
    56
    Hi guys.
    I downloaded your Unity Recorder Tool but I’m having problems with my Unity 2019.1.4f1. There are a lot of errors related to a namespace called UIElements and a Library called UnityeEngineExperimental that it's no longer in Unity. Here you got them:
    Thanks.
    Screen Shot 2019-06-19 at 9.55.57 AM.png
    Tony Munoz
     
  9. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @tonOnWu !

    You are using the Asset Store version that is deprecated and only compatible with < 2018.3.
    Please use Package Manager version.

    /!\ You will need to enable "show preview package" in package manager windows to be able to see the version.

    Thanks
     
  10. lawsonh

    lawsonh

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Unity,

    If I have multiple enabled image recorders each with a different custom resolution, all of the screenshots will be the same resolution. Are you aware of this bug?

    Lawson
     
  11. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @lawsonh,

    Are you using Game View as capture target ? If so, this is a known limitation and Recorder should show a warning about this. GameView is using screen capture core function that only renders once.

    If you want to capture different resolutions, ActiveCamera is a better option.

    Thanks !
     
    lawsonh likes this.
  12. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    I have crashes with the two latest versions from the package manager. Easy to reproduce. I tried it with 3 new projects with the same results. Unity 2019.1.of2
     
  13. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @netpost,

    Would you mind opening a new thread and tag it with recorder tag (so I can get notified).

    I need more info in order to repro:
    - OS version
    - What other plugins are you using (SRP, ...) ?
    - When does the crash happens ? Just after pressing play ?
    - What is your full Recorder set-up (screenshot is probably the best to share that) ?
    - Are you using Timeline and Recorder Track / Clip ?
    - Do you see errors in the console before the crash ?

    Please also share your editor.log (see https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/LogFiles.html)

    Thanks for your feedback !
     
  14. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    @marief_unity @recorder

    Hi and thanks for the quick reply. Here is the infos:

    Windows 10
    I am just using this plugin
    Yestreday it crashes right after hitting play. Today I was able to work for a few minutes before it did but with the same memory error.
    I attached 2 picture (one before and one after the crash)
    I am using the timeline to record and I mute the untiy recorder track when playing back the recorded animation
    I also have the log attached

    Thanks! TestUnityRecorder.JPG TestUnityRecorder.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

  15. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @netpost

    So you are recording an animation and this is an allocation error.
    I tried to repro this with a simply animated cube and did not have any issues.

    So here, what are the next steps I would suggest :
    * Upgrade to the last version of 2019.1 (2019.1.7f1), as it is always advised to use the last minor of each version
    * Try with a simple cube

    Also, can I have some details about your dragon asset ? is it an Alembic ? how is it animated ? how big is it ?
    Would it be possible to share it if the simple cube works for you too ?

    Thanks !

    ps: What i meant by creating a new thread is create a new message in the Audio/Video Forum and use the recorder tag. That way we can discuss without noise for all the people following this update thread ;)
     
  16. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    Ok I will try upgrade to the latest version and try to find some time to do a quick cube test and report back on a new thread in the audio video forum.

    Thanks.
     
  17. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    @marief_unity I just want to report that upgrading to unity 2019.1.7f1 solved the crash problem. Everything is good.
    Thank you for the quick support!
     
    marief_unity likes this.
  18. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @TimNick151297,

    Indeed Recorder takes control of the time using capture framerate API in order to let the recording of the output finish without impacting the fixed framerate of the sequence.
    See https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/TimeFrameManagement.html

    You could try launching Unity in command line and do this recording fully offline ?
    See https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/CommandLineArguments.html

    Does that answer your question ?

    Thanks
     
  19. nemesis7

    nemesis7

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hello, is it normal to have sound issues ?
    When I record something, the image is good but the sound cuts each second... it does that with any resolution, I don't understand why.
    If you know this issue, running on 2019.
    Thanks.
     
  20. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    81
    Hey @nemesis7,

    I confirmed It is not supposed to cut every seconds.
    Would you mind posting a separate message in the same forum and tag it with Recorder, so we can investigate further ?

    I would need to know :
    - OS version
    - Precise Unity version (if you are not running the last minor, I suggest to start by updating to it)
    - Recorder version
    - Recorder set-up (screenshots are the best)
    - Any other plugin used : timeline ? HDRP ?
    - Type of sound you are using (eventually share it if you can)

    Also did you try to reproduce the issue in the simplest project you can ? (ex: a cube moving).

    Thanks
     
  21. petey

    petey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,245
    Hi there,
    Just wondering about the animation export from Unity recorder, is there a way to export FBX files?
    By the way, having the samples as an option extra on the package is awesome! :)
    Screen Shot 2019-06-26 at 9.37.47 am.png


    Thanks,
    Pete