Search Unity

  1. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want more efficiency in your development work? Sign up to receive weekly tech and creative know-how from Unity experts.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Participate with students all over the world and build projects to teach people. Join now!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Build games and experiences that can load instantly and without install. Explore the Project Tiny Preview today!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Video Unity Recorder update

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ans_unity, Dec 19, 2017.

  1. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Unity Recorder V1.0 will be available for 2018.2 and later only.

    Main changes will be UI only, but you can already record 16K using a RenderTexture and WebM format. (providing your machine have the horse power to handle such a resolution!)

    Hope this helps.
     
  2. bac9-flcl

    bac9-flcl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    711
    Is there a workaround for PNG recorder not capturing linear color space correctly? ScreenCapture.CaptureScreenshot works correctly, so a quick fix might be to use it to output PNG frames at points determined by the recorder. I opened the issue about it in the repository:

    https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/GenericFrameRecorder/issues/85

    On another subject, is it possible to make the fixed frame time mode (where recorder hijacks the game loop and forces every frame to prepare as long as it needs with perfectly stable delta time) wait a set number of frames every time step before capturing next frame? This would effectively enable supersampling with temporal anti-aliasing, giving it an opportunity to collect multiple jittered samples for every single frame going into a final video.
     
  3. jeffsarge

    jeffsarge

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Posts:
    24
    will v1 allow you to record the HD pipeline? Right now it just records black.
    Thanks,
    Jeff
     
  4. unity_zOvEB4IgVxRirA

    unity_zOvEB4IgVxRirA

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Posts:
    171
    thanks for your reply ...
    but render texture can't support some of image fx, that applied to the camera ...
    does exists an method to get supersampling [like as SSAA method] ?

    P.S: also the recorder's supersamplimg method was bypass the image fx that applied to the camera.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2018
  5. superlol

    superlol

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Posts:
    10
    Hi there!
    I'm using the GitHub version and it works with unity 2018.2 HD render pipeline but I only see "image sequence" as recorder and not video (I need to save as video to get the audio output).
    Thx ^_^
     
  6. jexmatex

    jexmatex

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    well i'm quiet confused, i use this package and make it work, but i got this project here, old one that i maintain from version to version and for the first time i have this error when importing

    Assets/Unity Technologies/Recorder/Framework/Core/Engine/FileNameGenerator.cs(125,63): error CS0117: `SceneManager' does not contain a definition for `GetActiveScene'

    could not figure it out, any idea ?

    i tried both the gitthub version and the assetStore one
     
  7. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    @superlol
    Yes, the Movie Recorder was missing from GitHub . You should be able to pull the new code now.

    @jexmatex
    Is it the only error you've got in the Console? what version of Unity are you using? the Recorder is for 2017.1 and up.
     
  8. Foriero

    Foriero

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    428
    Hello, when Recorder is going to be available in Package Manager? Current Asset Store version is buggy on osx. Thank you, Marek.
     
  9. jexmatex

    jexmatex

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Hello Chafik, i'm using 2018.2.0Ff2, my project is older but work fine with this version
     
    superlol likes this.
  10. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    The Recorder should work properly on this version. Try removing any old Recorder files from your project (in Assets/Unity Technologies/Recorder) and re-import it again from the Asset Store.
     
  11. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hi Marek,

    Next release of the Recorder is expected to be on the Asset Store, not the Package Manager, and it's very soon.
    If you can share with us what kind of bugs you are experiencing with the current version, it would be very appreciated!

    Thanks.
     
    ZiadJ likes this.
  12. Foriero

    Foriero

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    428
    Hi Chafik, sent you private message with Editor.log hard crash. It happens all the time when you try to convert some files at the onset of your editor window. So I can not even get into the window to record anything.
     
  13. Lauscher

    Lauscher

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    I know the improvedPrefabs build is a preview build but trying to record an image sequence on crashes unity every time. Thought it was something wrong with my project but i just tried it with a completly new empty project and it still crashes every time...
     
  14. JBT27

    JBT27

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    187
    The Output Resolution is not saved with the .unity file. When I reopen a file, it defaults to Window. In a timeline with lots of recorder clips, this can be a real pain. Looking forward to 1.0 - I like what it is now, but 1.0 looks really nice. Being able to output up to 8K is really good, amongst many things.
     
  15. zIyaGtVm

    zIyaGtVm

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    I also found this but after I changed it to [UnityEngine.SceneManagement.SceneManager.GetActiveScene()],It worked for me.
    Maybe there's other class named SceneManager in your project caused this.
     
    chafik_unity likes this.
  16. Foriero

    Foriero

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    428
    Hi Chafik,

    Have you been able to fix the issue just from log? I'm unable to make repro except send whole 4GB project which is not possible right now since I have 2Mb internet.

    Please we are waiting for your new recorder version very much.

    Thank you, Marek.
     
  17. jexmatex

    jexmatex

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    thank you very much it works now, i didnt know it was possible to address the env directly in the command
     
  18. Cypras

    Cypras

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Posts:
    50
  19. ktmlleska_unity

    ktmlleska_unity

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Posts:
    13
    Hello,

    is there any example code to just setup some settings of the recorder and then click on start recording button by code?
    Just in order to use it in a build for example when click the "R" key, instead of using it on the editor and manually click at "start Recording" button.

    Thank you very much.
     
    MohsenneChaverdie likes this.
  20. 5argon

    5argon

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Posts:
    775
    "Specific Cameras" does not work with LWRP. Is this a known problem? (Produces fully transparent image sequence/blank video) "Game View" works.

    Specific Cameras is needed because I want to capture alpha with PNG sequence or webm. But I can't remove LWRP either since I have used Shader Graph to create shaders and everything turns magenta.
     
  21. MohsenneChaverdie

    MohsenneChaverdie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    It works fine for me in the Editor. How can I start a RecordingSession from script at run time?
     
  22. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Unfortunately the Recorder does not work well with the VideoPlayer.
    The VidePlayer is real-time based while the Recorder adjust the playmode update to fake the targeted fps. So while the final video is encoded in 30fps it took more than 1sec to process 30 frames (in your case it took 6sec to process 30 frames)

    We know this is a big limitation but there's technically no easy solution for this right now.
    A workaround would be to manually update the video texture using another method than the VideoPlayer.

    Thanks.
     
  23. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Current recorder does not expose any API, but the next release will include the following:

    - Pressing F10 will Start/Stop recording (Recorder Window should be opened though)

    - Exposed basic API for the RecorderWindow :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. var recorderWindow = EditorWindow.GetWindow<RecorderWindow>();
    2. recorderWindow.StartRecording();
    3. recorderWindow.IsRecording();
    4. recorderWindow.StopRecording();
    - Editor only API to create, setup, and start recordings from a MonoBehaviour. (not available for Runtime)

    - Examples for how to use all of the above mentioned APIs.

    Hope this will help!
     
    ktmlleska_unity likes this.
  24. ans_unity

    ans_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Posts:
    51
    We unfortunately have to wait a bit before making the new recorder an official package for internal process reasons. So instead of keeping this little bundle of awesomeness all for ourselves (would definitely not be cool) we decided to publish it on the asset store in the meantime for all to enjoy!

    Unity Recorder v1.0 is live!
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/essentials/unity-recorder-94079
     
    JBT27 likes this.
  25. Volodymyr_Melnychuk

    Volodymyr_Melnychuk

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Can i record video from android/iOS device in runtime with 1.0? Like when player presses the record button?
     
    cwlarce likes this.
  26. ElliottMallard

    ElliottMallard

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    I've noticed this too - not getting a WYSIWYG out of the editor is a bit a of a deal-breaker at the moment. I've also noticed that if you use "Sampling" as the collection method (in order to super-sample the capture) you can't see a preview of the recording, which makes spotting issues during the render impossible; has anybody found a way around that?
     
  27. JBT27

    JBT27

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Posts:
    187
    Superb - thanks very much.
     
  28. ans_unity

    ans_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Posts:
    51
    Not at the moment; the recorder works in the Editor in Play Mode only.
     
  29. petey

    petey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,207
    Hi there,
    I was reading in the features that this was able to record animations as FBX, I would love to be able to do that but I can't seem to get anything but .anim files. Just wondering, how do I change the format?

    Thanks,
    Pete
     
  30. bac9-flcl

    bac9-flcl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    711
    My current workaround is recording Unity animations (Recorder can do that now) and then using the official FBX exporter on an object with those animations attached. Recorded animation is pretty rough, since it's just a sampling of object positions/orientations at a certain rate, but its usable for some purposes like animation reference.
     
    chafik_unity likes this.
  31. petey

    petey

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Posts:
    1,207
  32. codegasm

    codegasm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Great to see a new release of the Recorder! Unfortunately we are still having the issue with super low bitrate (https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/GenericFrameRecorder/issues/67). In it's current state even the "High" quality option is not useful for recording clips of pixel art games for example. So it's great to see progress, but at this point I can't use this anyway, do you have any idea when this issue will be resolved?
     
  33. Barabicus

    Barabicus

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    Hey,
    So I need to record a video with the resolution of 1080 x 1920 but when I try to use recorder to do this I'm getting these errors. Also note that I can record videos perfectly fine at lower resolutions but I can't seem to with this resolution.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. WindowsVideoMedia error 0xc00d36b4 while reading C:\Users\MyUsername\Desktop\Folder\movie.mp4
    2. Context: IMFSinkWriter::SetInputMediaType
    3. Error details: The data specified for the media type is invalid, inconsistent, or not supported by this object.
    4. Track types:
    5. UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
    Code (CSharp):
    1. Error in VideoMediaEncoder::Create create and setting attributes in C:\Users\MyUsername\Desktop\Folder\movie.mp4.
    2. UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
    Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
     
  34. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hi @Barabicus
    Are you sure you don't have multiple recorders writing into the same output file?
     
  35. bac9-flcl

    bac9-flcl

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    711
    @chafik_unity

    As far as I understand, Recorder is moving to Unity Package Manager releases and would no longer be actively supported through GitHub. Where would be the best place to open issues and read release notes if that's the case?
     
  36. Barabicus

    Barabicus

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Posts:
    152
    Yeah pretty sure.This is what my recorder screen looks like. Just to be safe I deleted the movie recorder and re-added it just if something was bugged there.
     

    Attached Files:

  37. jexmatex

    jexmatex

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    didn't have the time to try right now but did the Linear recording being fix ?

    thanks by advance.
     
  38. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks for asking!
    Best way to report a bug related to the Recorder would be the editor builtin Bug Reporter and use the Issue Tracker website to track and vote for issues (https://issuetracker.unity3d.com)
     
  39. allaze-eroler

    allaze-eroler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    it would be useful to add an option that will record the game with the exact same colors since it use pixel art and in a limited number of color, think of it like a nes game.
     
  40. webjeff

    webjeff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Hi,

    This recorder is great! However, it stops when making a video around 70 frames or so in, the profiler just spikes at this line:
    m_Encoder.AddFrame(input.image);

    I see some other reports of this in this thread, but no solution. Is there a solution for this?

    I'm using the latest store version 1.0.1 w/ Unity 2018.2.1f1.

    Any ideas on how I can get this working properly?

    Thanks!
     
  41. v1nc3nt_3d

    v1nc3nt_3d

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    The linear color space issue when recording 360 is still not fixed.
    I'm using 2018.1.7f1 with the standard render pipeline, Post Processing v2, Timeline and Cinemachine.
    My project is almost done, but I can't offline render it out properly. VRPanorama Pro is the closest I've come, but there are issues with that asset as well.
     
  42. ShizumaruRiya

    ShizumaruRiya

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    The same issue of linear color space with 360 view capture.

    So, I change some settings in Camera360Input.cs:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.             m_Cubemap1 = new RenderTexture(settings360.mapSize, settings360.mapSize, 24, RenderTextureFormat.DefaultHDR, RenderTextureReadWrite.Linear)
    2.             {
    3.                 dimension = TextureDimension.Cube ,
    4.            
    5.             };
    6.             m_Cubemap2 = new RenderTexture(settings360.mapSize, settings360.mapSize, 24, RenderTextureFormat.DefaultHDR, RenderTextureReadWrite.Linear)
    7.             {
    8.                 dimension = TextureDimension.Cube
    9.             };
    Then I got:


    But this still darker than normal game view.
    So, I do a gamma correction in video editor:

    Now the final result is almost equal normal game view. (The background is lighter)
    I hope Unity team could fix this issue as soon as possible.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
  43. cecarlsen

    cecarlsen

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Posts:
    447
    Unity Recorder is great! I am just missing input for custom aspect ratios.
     
  44. Arycama

    Arycama

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    59
    I just tried this out. Seems to work fine for a couple of seconds of recording, then suddenly the framerate drops to ~1 fps. The profiler reports it is caused by VideoMediaEncoder.AddVideoFrame taking 1000 or so milliseconds.

    Any suggestions?

    upload_2018-8-17_16-8-47.png
     
  45. JRW_WSP

    JRW_WSP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Hello! When I tick capture UI I do not get the UI and everything is way to dark. Any ideas why this might be happening?
     
  46. webjeff

    webjeff

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    I have the same issue, still no response on how to fix :(
     
  47. autophagy

    autophagy

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Hey, I have a really weird problem. When I try to record a scene, the physics start freaking out. The objects start shaking. When I play the scene normally, no shaking happens. Does anyone else have this problem, and how can I fix it?

    Cheers
     
  48. JRW_WSP

    JRW_WSP

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    So just to add to my issue regarding capturing with UI - it would seem to be a gamma issue. If I capture when rendering in Linear space then I get the issue of the image being too dark, whereas if I am in Gamma space (which I don't want to be) then it captures the image fine.
     
  49. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2018
  50. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hi, custom resolutions and aspect ratios should be part of the next Recorder update.
     
    cecarlsen likes this.