Search Unity

Video Unity Recorder update

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by ans_unity, Dec 19, 2017.

  1. Mickwa

    Mickwa

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Hello,

    I downloaded recorder few days ago from Asset Store so I have version ver. 0.2. But is in 0027? I'm not sure, I can not find this information.
    Recording png doesn't solve problem.

    If I take screenshot using RenderTexture I have good quality and size of image is about 9Mb. png captured with Unity Recorder has about 2,5Mb. Is there some compression?
     
  2. ahardy

    ahardy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Hello folks,

    Will the capability to record videos in standalone build integrated in a future release, or do we need to develop behaviors that will extend the existing recorders ?

    Cheers,
     
  3. mihakinova

    mihakinova

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Posts:
    85
    Is there a way to make the recorder editor-only? Say if you just want to use it for recording game in the editor, but not have it build with the game?
     
  4. ahardy

    ahardy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    To my understanding, it's already editor only, is it not ?
     
  5. jdial1981

    jdial1981

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    10
    Is the video recorder supposed to continue to capture video when the scene changes? I go to tools/video and then set up my selections. When I hit play the recorder starts and continues recording until I trigger an event that causes a scene change. At that point the recorder causes unity to exit play mode. Is this the intended behavior?
     
  6. DominiqueLrx

    DominiqueLrx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Hi again Mickwa!

    OK, let's dig deeper then. First of all, about the version, you should get the detailed version number by visiting Tools->Recorder->About. This would be good for us to know so can you please have a look?

    However, since you're telling us you're also seeing banding when recording to png, then the problem may be elsewhere. One thing I should point out is that the scene is extremely dark. This means the dynamic range is very small and since the encoding goes to 8 bits per channel (or less for video), these artefacts may happen during the conversion to 8 bits.

    But let's move to the next step: are you able to record to exr instead of png? Exr files will record to floating point (16 or 32 bits, depending on quality) so, if the problem really is with dynamic range, your resulting images will not be susceptible to banding. I'm seeing the image recorder do a readback from the render texture into a floating point texture, so this path should be clean.

    The PNG storage I'm seeing in the code appears sane: RGB (or RGBA), 8 bits per channel. As for compression, PNG is lossless so this is not where the difference is. I suspect the screen capture method you use grabs 16-bit per channel PNG, which would explain the size difference quite well. Can you tell us what you use for screen grab?

    This being said, the png you attached with your message has 8 bits per channel and clearly shows the artifact on the left side but not on the right, demonstrating that 8 bits is enough to properly represent the wanted content. So, while using exr _may_ unblock you in what you are doing, I would encourage you to submit a bug (along with the 2 original png screenshots to validate the above) so we can investigate this problem with a data set as close as possible to yours.

    Thanks for your time!

    Dominique
     
  7. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    786
  8. DominiqueLrx

    DominiqueLrx

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Posts:
    108
    Rowlan likes this.
  9. Tanika

    Tanika

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Can we record from standalone build itself instead of editor?
     
  10. Muckel

    Muckel

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    426
    Hello,
    i've found some bug's...
    will sent a repro later... no time yet...
    1. If you playback a Video and record the Screen as Video... MP4
    the Video that is playing back has double speed as before... also Audio lags....

    2. PNG recording doen't work for semi transparent Gui elements... they not transparent @ALL

    3. if a UI element is not on Z = 0 then i get's not recorded...

    4. the recorded UI is not as sharp as if i make a screenshot -> render texture... UI is little blurry

    5. if recording UI with particles... the behaviour of the particles change while in record mode... not in playmode..!

    more later when i find the time....
    Mac OS X 10.13.3 & Unity3d 2017.3.1p3
    PRO User since 1.8.0
    M.
     
  11. InfiniteDesign8

    InfiniteDesign8

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    how can i output an alpha background?
     
  12. InfiniteDesign8

    InfiniteDesign8

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    ok i can do alhpa with pngs but it doesnt render particles? has anyone got it to do that? limitation or Im missing a setting?
     
  13. Adam-Bailey

    Adam-Bailey

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    224
    I'm also getting the problem where recording is fine for a few seconds and then slows to an absolute crawl. On a powerful PC with a basic test scene.

    upload_2018-4-6_10-14-32.png
     
    luispedrofonseca likes this.
  14. luispedrofonseca

    luispedrofonseca

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    767
    I'm getting the exact same issue as the user above. The recorder works fine for the first few frames (60 or so) and then it slows down to a frame every several seconds. Any idea what's going on or how to circumvent it?
     
  15. InfiniteDesign8

    InfiniteDesign8

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    a frame every several seconds ...oh no what will you do
     
  16. Adam-Bailey

    Adam-Bailey

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    224
    Not missing a frame every few seconds, literally only rendering a frame every few seconds.
     
  17. luispedrofonseca

    luispedrofonseca

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    767
    @DominiqueLrx Can you please take a look at the issue reported above? Any hints? I'm approaching a deadline and I really need a workaround to get this done. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  18. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    416
    Is it possible to make a recording from a 2D camera with transparent background? I played with Camera Clear Flags and Background settings, that didn't help. Thanks in advance!
     
  19. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    416
    What is the best format to save a video that will be later produced in After Effects or Primer Pro? Quality is the top priority and file size is not an issue. I'm guessing that one can't go wrong with PNG, but would prefer not to deal with 1000s of separate files.
     
  20. InfiniteDesign8

    InfiniteDesign8

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    mp4 all day in ae
     
  21. ahardy

    ahardy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    From my experience with the recorder this happens when using some expensive encoding settings. Can you detail the settings you are using to encode your materials ?
     
  22. InfiniteDesign8

    InfiniteDesign8

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    21
    but still...doing the job? so go get a bite to eat and come back
     
  23. tianyi2018

    tianyi2018

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Help~~~

    How can I add additional information to control the output layer of openEXR format?
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2018
  24. ahardy

    ahardy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Recording one frame every few seconds is not what I call doing the job when you want to record a video :D
     
  25. luispedrofonseca

    luispedrofonseca

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Posts:
    767
    @ahardy I worked around it by using the WebM encoder. That gave me almost realtime video encoding.
     
    Arkade and Adam-Bailey like this.
  26. Adam-Bailey

    Adam-Bailey

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Posts:
    224
    Ahem:

     
  27. sv955

    sv955

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Posts:
    7

    I am facing color issue in 360 video recording.

    Please see the screenshot attached.


    Left image is 360 video recording using Recorder plugin.
    Right one is screen recording of same area using Screen collection method.


    Unity version : Unity 2018.1.0b13 (64-bit).
    Recorder Package : Recorder.experimental.v0.2.0027.unitypackage
     

    Attached Files:

  28. tianyi2018

    tianyi2018

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Posts:
    2
  29. mzpc

    mzpc

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    With Everyplay discontinued will Unity be integrating similar functionality from Everyplay into this new asset? If not, what alternatives exist to easily share video and screenshots on various social platforms (Facebook, Youtube, etc.). Everyplay already had Android/iOS support with low overhead.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2018
  30. unity_zOvEB4IgVxRirA

    unity_zOvEB4IgVxRirA

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Posts:
    238
    i want to record an .mp4 video with specific resolution by specific camera tag or active camera via calling script ...
    so, is it possible and how?
     
  31. unity_zOvEB4IgVxRirA

    unity_zOvEB4IgVxRirA

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2017
    Posts:
    238
    any helps??
     
  32. meskew

    meskew

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    I am loving the quality I'm getting from this plugin. I am wondering if there is a way that we can link it to Wwise for audio?
     
  33. kkj_unity

    kkj_unity

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hi. Do you have any idea when this feature will come yet?
     
  34. MariusRu

    MariusRu

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Hello,

    I am trying to connect data from 3D space to the jpg recordings. Specifically, I would like to predict from the angle of an object relative to the camera the coordinates it will have on the image.
    To visualize this problem, I placed several red balls in front of the recording camera (RedBallsOutside.jpg), all with the same distance to the camera and offsetted by 5 degrees. When I record an image with that camera, the circles of course don't appear in a grid-shape, but rather in a kind of fish-eye view (image60degrees.jpg). How can I predict where each ball will be located on the recorded image?

    Best,
    Marius
     

    Attached Files:

  35. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
  36. MariusRu

    MariusRu

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Yes, this seems to be right what I need! I didn't think it could be that easy :)
     
  37. MariusRu

    MariusRu

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Thanks again for the great tool!
    I have two more (basic?) questions:

    1. How can I record png images from two cameras simultaneously (preferably via script and not using the editor toolbar)?
    2. How expensive should recording be? My framerate drops from ~60fps to ~35fps when I record movies or images. Am I missing something?

    Best,
    Marius
     
  38. Kollektiff

    Kollektiff

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    We are having similar issues. Characters get out of sync as time progresses. Strange thing is they are also getting out of sync with each other. Any ideas how to solve this?
     
  39. kittu91

    kittu91

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    i am using unity 2018.1 hd Render pipeline and post processing 2.0 ver and using recoder for 360 render. But i am unable to get 360 render. Actually i am getting problem with cube map any solutions?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01.jpg
      01.jpg
      File size:
      803.2 KB
      Views:
      238
  40. Flag74

    Flag74

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    can I use this plugin to record webcams stream to mp4 for an application I'm developing?
    It's not clear and there are no api examples ..
    I need to record two webcams simultanely to 2 separate files
    @chafik_unity ?
     
  41. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    @MariusRu, @Flag74
    We're currently working on having multiple recorders running simultaneously, this should be available in future releases.

    Meanwhile, you can use multiple Recorder Track inside Timeline and setup each clip as a separate recorder in its own output file.

    hope this helps!
     
    Elliott-Mitchell likes this.
  42. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Do you have any repro steps for this or a small scene that reproduce the issue?
     
  43. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hi kittu91,
    I'm not sure to understand the problem, can you be more specific please?

    Thanks
     
  44. Gord10

    Gord10

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    123
    Is there a way to show the mouse cursor in the video? I'm quite happy with Recorder besides that.
     
  45. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Yes, software cursors should be recorded normally.
    Try using
    Cursor.SetCursor(<texture>, <hotspot>, CursorMode.ForceSoftware)
    .
     
  46. Parallax

    Parallax

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Loving this utility, but have a problem recording bullet time. I slowed time down and destructive physics looks great in game mode, but the video output remains in realtime. Is there a way to increase the frame rate of the capture to accurately render game mode?
     
  47. Gord10

    Gord10

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    123
    Thank you!

    (For people who still has the problem, Collection Method needs to be Game)
     
  48. gokuartz

    gokuartz

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Is the Unity Recorder supported in SRP HD pipeline ?
     
  49. manran

    manran

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    I'm using Unity 2018.2.0b4 and i only get black frames when recording. Thanks
     
  50. chafik_unity

    chafik_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    44
    Hi, I was not able to reproduce the issue on my side. can you share more details please?
    - What recorder are you using? with what settings?
    - How do you achieve the slow motion? (is it by playing with Time.timeScale?)

    Thanks