Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Video Unity Recorder doesn't export 4k IMG Sequence

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by andreaaniceto, Apr 24, 2019.

  1. andreaaniceto

    andreaaniceto

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,

    When I set my Unity Recorder to export in 4K JPEG/ or PNG Image Sequences it only exports one image after playing my whole video through. It exports in Match Window Size perfectly. However, I want my output resolution to be 4k.

    Any solutions on how to fix this? I've attached an image of my settings in Unity Recorder. Unity Recorder_ImgSequence_Settings.PNG
     
  2. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    62
    Hey @andreaaniceto

    I created a simple project with a cube moving, added a Recorder track and clip with same options including 4k.
    Looks good to me.

    So just to be sure I understand :
    if you export with the same settings BUT with match window size, all good.
    if you change to 4k, only one image is written.

    I would need more details on your configuration :
    - OS version
    - Recorder version
    - Unity version

    Is there an error in your console ?
    Are other resolution working (2k, 8k) ?

    Thanks
     
  3. andreaaniceto

    andreaaniceto

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    9

    I'm on Windows 10 1709.
    The recorder version I am using is 2.0.0.
    The Unity Version is 2019.1.0f2
    Absolutely no errors come up in my console before, during or after. I turned off clear console to see if it was going to have anything pop up, but it does not.
    I've tried it with other settings other than 4k and it does not work. Only works with Match Window Size.
     
    mp9000 likes this.
  4. andreaaniceto

    andreaaniceto

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Posts:
    9

    Another thing to note. I am using HDRP template. I do not have any 3D objects within my scene just 2D sprites. Not sure if something like this would affect what's going on.
     
  5. marief_unity

    marief_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2018
    Posts:
    62
    HDRP is definitely something to mention as it potentially implies different mechanism.
    What is the version you use ?

    That said, I gave a try with default HDRP project with no issue :
    - On windows 10, I create a new project from Unity HUB using HDRP template
    - Install Recorder via Package manager
    - Create a timeline and a Recorder clip, select Image Sequence and then 4k

    It is slower to Recorder 4k than my GameView window size, but I get all my images.

    Would you mind trying with those repro steps ?

    Thanks
     
  6. mp9000

    mp9000

    Joined:
    May 1, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Something else to note. I am utilizing HDRP format. I don't include any 3D questions inside my scene just 2D sprites. Not certain if something like this would influence what's happening.