Search Unity

Unity & Ray-Tracing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Liminal-Ridges, Aug 16, 2018.

1. Liminal-Ridges

Liminal-Ridges

Im not an expert in the graphic arts but i understand that ray-tracing is a rendering method. Will this method be embeded in Unity or is it up to the developer to write some kind of code for it? If the second where can i find a tutorial?

2. Deeeds

Deeeds

It's years away. Forget about it. Focus on traditional rendering, it'll be around for another decade.

Glader, Martin_H, Kiwasi and 2 others like this.
  3. Murgilod

Murgilod

If you need to look up a tutorial for how to implement raytracing then you are absolutely out of your depth.

4. elbows

elbows

The current hype is not about purely ray-traced scenes. Rather it is about a hybrid approach, where the traditional graphics rasterisation techniques are still used for many things, and the ray-tracing stuff provides certain things like area lights with nice shadows, nice reflections etc.

When nvidia do their shiny presentations about this stuff, so far they have partnered with Epic using experimental stuff added to UE4. But Unity and many other companies are shown in the presentations slides as being partners too, so it is reasonable to expect that they will eventually have some ray-tracing based offerings too.

But even the UE4 stuff is not ready for people to try right now. When pressed for timing estimates, people from Epic say things such as 'some code in github by the end of the year, with a view to adding it to a binary release at some stage of 2019.' And they might be referring to one ray-traced feature in particular (eg area lights) rather than everything that has been demonstrated so far.