Search Unity

Unity Quality, Can it be better?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MyGenericUsername, Apr 26, 2016.

1. MyGenericUsername

MyGenericUsername

As an artist, i like to look at the works of other artist. I came across this photo from Cryengine 5 and i just thought that it was too good to be true. I've been with unity for quite some time(Unity 2.6 and above). Being 18 y/o now, i still see nothing good that has come to unity as far as quality similar to the picture below. Unity was my first game engine, so is it for a lot of kids lol. But i've been in and out of Substance Software trying to achieve something spectacular like the image below.

Unity could use a heap of improvements in lighting and they should take a hint from cry engine (Cry engine has the best lighting so far out of most indie game engines)
    svoti_forest_2_1.jpg
    I notice in the image above that trees have Subsurface Scattering. Why does Unity not have Subsurface scattering within their shaders? That's something Unity should really add to make lighting more realistic. Along with indirect shadow maps. I also see that Unity's terrain is outdated and is complete crap. I can add Height maps or tessellation unless i spend time writing a custom shader which probably will cause problems within the terrain system. I say this because i have tried many Tessellation shaders. And the fact that i still can't paint my grass onto a mesh.

When i first got my hands on Substance Painter, i tried testing unity's lighting with PBR shading with this simple model made in 3ds max. (Standard Shader)
    PBR_NEW_Unity 5_EDITED.jpg

My question to some of you is: Have you achieved high quality with unity to compare to unreal or cryengine? I would like to see if so. :) I really want to see the Unity Engine get better when it comes to quality.

Archviz does not count. That's by far the easiest thing to setup with high quality in unity.

Last edited: Apr 26, 2016
    DesertRaven likes this.