Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Unity putting .meta files into bundle directories

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Anotheryeti, Feb 28, 2020.

  1. Anotheryeti

    Anotheryeti

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Under Catalina, signed bundles are listed as corrupted once unity adds in meta files in the subdirectories, and they cannot be re-signed due to the meta files causing an incorrect bundle layout.

    Since they're stripped in builds, it doesn't make a difference, but it means that native libraries in bundles can't be used in-editor in Catalina. The OS will declare the library is mangled and throw it in the trash.

    Anybody know how to prevent this? Is there a way to just tell unity to not meta file a directory?
     
    idbrii likes this.
  2. Anotheryeti

    Anotheryeti

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Nevermind, mystery solved. It looks like unity only does this if you don't have your command line developer tools correctly installed, which is the case for anybody who upgrades to catalina and hasn't dealt with them being moved to zsh directories.

    It would be great if there was a notification about this instead of just breaking people's projects.
     
  3. Foriero

    Foriero

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    I have command line tools installed but still get metafiles in the bundle. :-(
     
  4. andrews_unity

    andrews_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Posts:
    248
    We are looking into this bug, in that we know it causes issues with the editor and such when Gatekeeper is enabled. Essentially whats happening here is the Asset Importing system just sees a bundle as a folder and trys to import its content. We are looking into how to resolve this issue properly.
     
  5. Foriero

    Foriero

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    547
    Thank you Andrew, I sent you an email describing also issue with "lib" prefix in dylib libraries. Example. We have NET library that maps DllImport["bass"] The thing is that dylibs are usually exported as libbass.dylib which means Unity can not correctly see and call the library because the name is different.
     
  6. andrews_unity

    andrews_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Posts:
    248
    We shall also fix the lib prefix issue, as we already do this for Linux so we can just add support for it on MacOS as well.
     
  7. AndyMartin458

    AndyMartin458

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Posts:
    58
    Any update on the progress on using a dylib in editor in catalina?
     
  8. andrews_unity

    andrews_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Posts:
    248
    The lib issue has been resolved, though I think it hasn’t landed in 2019.3 yet.
     
unityunity