Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity on Vista - a doomed endeavour?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Blearly, Oct 5, 2015.

1. Blearly

Blearly

That's right, I'm on Vista, and Unity v5.0.4f1 and above will simply not install, regardless of whether I download the small installer, the 64 bit installer or the 32 bit installer. I kinda wish a "vista is not supported" message would come up instead of the downloaded .exe simply not running, but hey. It is noted in system requirements so I can't grumble. The previous version archive takes the sting off: I have v5.0.3f2 installed and that works fine, as far as this novice can tell. Sweet.

So my questions are: how much is using v5.0.3f2 going to hinder me? I'm only a hobbyist, so I'm mainly concerned with issues that arise due to using a not-up-to-date version for tutorials. Should I downgrade to the first version of 5 available, stay with what works, or even go down to 4?

Last edited: Oct 5, 2015
  2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Unity states clearly it isn't supported on the download page under system requirements.

They will not be supporting Vista in the future, or ever because:

Note: this is for development, not necessarily what it will run on. You really shouldn't be using vista - nobody should. It is out of date, riddled with security flaws and not properly supported by microsoft. If you really want to use Vista reliably, you might need to change what version of Unity you use, but I cannot advise there, it is up to you.

3. Blearly

Blearly