Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity not importing custom package/model

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by slushky22, Jun 18, 2021.

1. slushky22

slushky22

So I just started with Unity today and I’m having an issue with it not importing a custom package/a free model I downloaded. Whenever I click ‘open’ to import the package it just doesn’t do anything! 
    I’ve never used Unity before and I’d really like someone to help me with this issue because even after looking at other threads I’ve been unable to solve this issue for a few hours now.
    Any help is appreciated!

2. Schneider21

Schneider21

Welcome!

You may have to give a bit more info for us to be able to help you out. Is this package a file ending in .unitypackage? Or is an FBX/OBJ or something?

Unity package files should import automatically by double-clicking them, but you do have to actually click Import on the popup inside Unity after... Look around, it might be tucked away in the corner of your monitor or in a window behind the editor or something.

If it's just a straight up model file, you can copy that directly into your Assets directory (or more ideally, a subfolder within your Assets directory for organization) and when you switch back to Unity, the asset will import with default settings. You can then select the file in your Project panel and specify additional import settings and reimport that way.

slushky22 likes this.
  3. slushky22

slushky22

Thank you for replying!