Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

"Unity No Longer Supports Non-Kinematic, Non-Convex colliders" Best workaround?

Discussion in 'Physics' started by jimthegiant, Mar 18, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jimthegiant

jimthegiant

I'm pretty new to Unity so maybe I'm missing something but here's my dilemma.

According to an error message error "Non-convex MeshColliders with non-kinematic Rigidbodies are no longer supported in Unity 5.0" but this is a necessity on one of my assets:

push ramp.png

The ramp needs pushing in to place by the players before they use it to access another area. For this to work the mesh collider needs to by the same as the visible mesh. If I click convex so it is pushable from the front clearly I can't also roll up it, if I use a wedge mesh I can't also push it.

The only solution I've been able to make work is splitting the mesh in to left, middle and right sections then attaching each as a separate mesh collider.

It's not a huge issue but it could be a lot harder with more complex shapes or if I need to add lots of different concave physically driven shapes to a scene in the future. Is there a better way?

Could a script do the job of non kinematic physics calculation and be attached to every "kinematic" object where it's necessary?

2. Nanako

Nanako

i'd probably make that with a wedge and two boxes.

i wonder why this feature has been removed, though

3. jimthegiant

jimthegiant

My guess would be performance but still would be nice to have the option and perhaps a warning.
    Maybe even having the option causes performance decrease but unity could have provided a script or a button to automatically split the mesh and add them as collider components to get around this.

4. Roni92

Roni92

Its Physx 3.3 thing, not Unity's.

briandcruz67 and jimthegiant like this.