Search Unity

Unity Native VR Support Best Practise / Project Setup

Discussion in 'VR' started by appymedia, Aug 5, 2019.

1. appymedia

appymedia

HI All,

I'm new to VR with Unity and only dabbled with Unity outside of VR previously and am trying to get started in VR dev. I'm using Unity 2019.2.0f1 and looks the VR template has vanished I saw in there previously, not entirely sure why and can't see any official response on the issue (a few others have asked) so trying to establish what exactly is the best way to setup a project for VR.

I quite like the idea of using Unity’s native XR feature’s so I don't have to install or count on 3rd party assets. I believe the new Unity input system will / does support XR tracking and input but it’s a bit early still and not a lot of docs and so on to help guide a newbie like me.

I've installed 2019.1.13f1 to get access to the old VR template so I can see how the XR rig is setup and so on. It uses the XR Legacy Input Helpers package and the Tracked Pose Driver which gets things setup with HMD tracking at the right height via a script.

I still have to solve general input for triggers, buttons etc but from what I've read I don't think that will be too tricky using the 'old' input system.

I just wanted to check that this is the current best practise for a VR setup in 2019.2.0f1? Is it Unity’s intention to transition us over onto the new input system and make the XR Legacy Input Helpers package actually legacy, it seems like they are current still?

Be really good to have an idea about teleporting and general scene interaction in VR as well somewhere although being fair that’s more on me as the dev, still be nice though! I'm guessing I can snoop in on packages like VRTK to get an idea how I might begin.