Search Unity

  1. We are looking for feedback on the experimental Unity Safe Mode which is aiming to help you resolve compilation errors faster during project startup.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity messes up environment variables

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by adabrowski, Aug 7, 2019.

  1. adabrowski

    adabrowski

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Unity 2019.x is not usable for me on Linux.

    Previously (the 2018.3 version) it launched directly and preserved the environment vars (e.g. LD_LIBRARY_PATH, but I don't mean only this one).

    Now it launches the Hub first and the environment variables are dropped. This is unacceptable and a reason I am staying with 2018.3.

    I am also unable to run Unity directly, there's no command line argument for that (I really don't want the Hub to lunch).
     
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    7,400
    You can do "Unity -projectPath "<path/to/your/project>" and Unity will not attempt to launch the hub.

    Can you file a bug on the environment variable issue?

    EDIT: Hub team tells me this is fixed in Hub 2.1 which should be coming out later today.
     
    Eyap and adabrowski like this.
  3. adabrowski

    adabrowski

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Wonderful, thank you!
     
unityunity