Search Unity

Unity Mac - Dont have either, but i do have a question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jamieo1977, Jul 26, 2006.

1. jamieo1977

jamieo1977

Hi All

Im desperate to get into some 3D Application development. Ive tried so many different engines and development suites ive lost count (all PC based)

Ive seen all the reviews for UNITY3D and im seriously considering buying a MAC exclusively for UNITY, just been checking out Ebay.

Anyway, i have a fairly strong programming background, i work in the IT industry, my real week area would be 3D modeling, artisticly im fine, but 3d is a different kettle of fish.

My question is does Unity help/aid those not so strong in 3D modeling? Or do you still need to resort to external modeling apps?

2. Aras

Aras

Unity Technologies

You still do need to do 3D modelling/animation/texturing in the other programs (of which are plenty alternatives, ranging from free to expensive).

...or you can create textures and models using the procedural interface if you really want to. Or collaborate with other people (look under Collaboration forum)

3. Morgan

Morgan

Unity lets you position objects in 3D to make your game, but you build the objects elsewhere. There are some free 3D apps, some more newcomer-friendly than others. Maybe Google Sketchup would be a good starting point? (I haven't tried it yet--I use LightWave.)

PS, If you need help choosing a used Mac, just post... the question has come up before :) A very basic used Mac (like a G4 Mini) + a copy of Unity can total less than $500... well worth it! I converted to Unity the month before last and never looked back. I'm running on a 1.25 GHz G4 and it works fine.

4. taumel

taumel

Hopefully one day we'll have better primitive support! :O)

5. Jonathan Czeck

Jonathan Czeck

What do you want, a teapot?

-Jon

6. taumel

taumel

Nope, others and dynamic control over the supported ones. But who said that each program should have it's own teapot! ;O)

7. Marble