Search Unity

Resolved Unity Learning Path Kitchen Scene Baked Lightmaps looking bad

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by amirmehmood, Jan 28, 2022.

1. amirmehmood

amirmehmood

Hello Community,

this is my first post on this forum. I am totally new to Unity Engine.

Currently i am doing the lerning path and i loaded the Kitchen Scene.
    But the shadows are looking very ugly please see this screenshot.
    I am note sure but i think the shadows are some how baked or what ever you call it.

my quetion is how can i get rid of thease ugly looking patches form the objects.

it would be nice i could turn on real time shadow without baking or so.

Baked lighting looking bad.JPG

Thank you very much in advance for any help is welcome.

2. amirmehmood

amirmehmood

okay i found a solution to this problem.
    I went to Global Lighting setting and disabled the Global baked illumination. then i changed under the directional light the mode to realtime

howto get to the Global Lighting setting in Unity 2020
    howto get to the Global Lighting setting.jpg

Turn off the Baked Global Illumination feature.
    Global Lighting Setting.JPG

select your directional Light and change mode to realtime.
    Directional Light Setting.JPG

Attached this later:
    this is the result in realtime with new Materials assigned to the object.
    Realtime Shadow.jpg

Last edited: Feb 1, 2022
  3. DSivtsov

DSivtsov

1. You didn't show the new result.
    2. With GI (Global Illumination) :) not so simple:
    The final result of rendering of some object based on "type" of object (dynamic/static), lights which are used in rendering and the selected type creation GI (Baked/Runtime) include huge bunch of its parameters.
    And for different objects are used different settings.