Search Unity

Unity keeps adding unity-ads.aar

Discussion in 'Unity Ads' started by josephsaade, Jan 16, 2017.

  1. josephsaade

    josephsaade

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    I have a project which has Ads enabled, whenever I build, Unity auto-magically ads unity-ads.aar
    I tried searching for the aar file and it is no where to be found in the Assets folder.

    The issue is that unity-ads.aar is an old version, If I upgrade in the assets store I get a newer version UnityAds.aar which appears in the Plugins/Android folder but I cannot build as Unity keeps adding the old "unity-ads.aar" file

    Anybody faced such a weird issue?

    Thanks
     
  2. Ben-Stoneman

    Ben-Stoneman

    Services Support

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi Josephsaade,

    Just to see if I understand Correctly; You are creating your game In the Unity editor and wish to build to android, when you build the game the unity-ads.aar file appears in your project?

    Let me know if I've understood this correctly. Also please let me know of any other errors that appear.
     
  3. josephsaade

    josephsaade

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    Yes, this is exactly the issue.
    There are no errors, the only problem is that I cannot download any new Unity Ad plugin from the asset store as it will cause a conflict with this magical unity-ads.aar
     
  4. Ben-Stoneman

    Ben-Stoneman

    Services Support

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    What version of the Unity editor are you using? Versions past 5.5 will work when enabling via the services window.

    I think I had this same issue myself and found that it was solved by deleting the old Unity ads asset from the Assets folder:

    Windows - User>AppData>Roaming>Unity> Asset Store
    Mac - User>Library>Unity>Asset Store

    Once deleted check that it is not still re-importing. If it does not re-import you can use the services window for implementation or update the Asset store SDK.

    Please let me know if that solves the issue.
     
  5. monark

    monark

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,494
    This is still happening in U2018.4.6, unfortunately I can't find it anywhere on my Mac to remove it