Search Unity

Unity is really missing a native Visual Scripting Tool

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Harry3D, Jun 30, 2016.

1. Harry3D

Harry3D

Hey guys, I was reluctant in posting a thread like this, but I think that the more people demanding this from Unity, the more they can consider it. I am a designer, and as such, I'd really rather implement and prototype things using a Visual Scripting Tool. I like programming as well, but VS just makes things that much easier from a designing perspective. For that matter, I use Playmaker, and it is awesome. Very powerful tool. But there are clear disadvantages not being a native tool, like Blueprints in Unreal. The support is naturally much smaller. I mean, community is great, forums are helpful, but still, for me at least, not enough.

Truth is Unity is made for programmers. To me as a designer, there's not a single way for me to implement stuff without coding or paying for a plugin. I believe this is detrimental because you stablish no clear communication between designers and programmers in the engine itself.

Some of you may think "Go learn C#!" and I have nothing against it, truly. But these are different fields of study. You don't tell a programmer "Go learn game design!" or "Go learn 3D modeling!" because these require an entirely different study, and in gaming production I really think we have to work on our strenghts - and of course, have a somewhat good notion of other fields at least.

Well, I'm strongly considering switching to UE4, specially because of the designer-programmer better communication through Visual Scripting and other tools as well. The workflow is simply different.

Please let me know what you think and what are your experiences in that matter!

Thanks!

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

Not_Sure, Gekigengar and Kiwasi like this.
  3. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

I agree with you, Unity needs to be accessible to artists and designers.

4. neginfinity

neginfinity