Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub won't create new project

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by candersontyler, Apr 29, 2020.

  1. albertputinjobs

    albertputinjobs

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2021
    Posts:
    8
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2022
    woojing likes this.
  2. LordCail07

    LordCail07

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    FWIW: I had the same bug in Unity Hub 3.3.0
    1) Tried right-click Unity Hub and running as Admin but didn't fix it.
    2) Still running as Admin: Went to Hub > Preferences > Changed default project location > Tried creating new project and changing the location to the desired folder and it worked!
     
  3. zeroexu

    zeroexu

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I was with the same issue. Solution:

    Install 2022 version (currently the default version is 2021)
    Create a new project
    * Here the Program request Liscense
    You set your Liscense.
    Choose the new project
    Unity Works!
     
  4. kapi3112007

    kapi3112007

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem and it worked after I returned my licence and activated it again, similarly to how zeroexu fixed it, but unity hub behaved like I had the licence and only unity itself had some problems with it, which it showed in logs.
    (C:\Users\-\AppData\Local\Unity\Editor\Editor.log)
     
  5. ddc5276

    ddc5276

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    If anyone is still seeing this on a Mac, I was able to resolve the problem with a complete uninstall and reinstall of Unity/Unity Hub. Just make sure you get rid of everything in the /Applications folder related to unity as well.

    I also ensured I used the latest Hub install for the website.
     
  6. Redsvn

    Redsvn

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks!!!
     
  7. woojing

    woojing

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I've solve this by install vc redistribute package.
    in my case I used 'choco' to install that.
    choco install vcredist2013
     
  8. lowdingtv

    lowdingtv

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    For me that thing worked!
    Thank you,
    I struggeled hard with this problem...
     
  9. abysslover

    abysslover

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    In my case, refreshing the license by clicking "Preference -> Licenses -> Add" solved the problem. License re-activation may help your Unity to set up the identiy of the user.
     
    malik1 and DigitalAdam like this.
  10. DigitalAdam

    DigitalAdam

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,200
    This worked for me when trying to create a new project for 2021. Creating a project for 2022 had no issues, but for some odd reason 2021 wouldn't work. Even trying to load a 2021 project wouldn't work either. Anyways thanks for the tip!
     
  11. mincrafterthebest

    mincrafterthebest

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    it keeps saying project failed to open
     
  12. malik1

    malik1

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    1. Reinstall Unity Hubs
    2. Preference -> Licenses -> Return License
    3. Preference -> Licenses -> Add
     
  13. kiralpoon

    kiralpoon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem on my external drive.
    Did a lot of methods and testing
    At the end, I turnt off the UAC
    1. Open Control Panel on Windows 11.
    2. Click on System and Security.
    3. Click the “Change User Account Control settings” option.
    4. Select the Never notify option using the slider to disable the UAC feature
    After that I was able to create project in the external drive.
    Good luck for everyone
     
  14. JigzSaw

    JigzSaw

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    I am starting to learn Unity and had a similar problem using an older version of Unity Hub. I updated to the latest version and installed LTS versions 2020.3.44f1 and 2019.4.40f1. I tried creating a new project for the FPS Microgame learning template using editor version 2020.3.44f1 but Unity Hub won't create the project. I tried again using version 2019.4.40f1, this time it worked. I read from NickMagg's post at https://forum.unity.com/threads/no-microgames-templates.1023604/ that "The Lego Microgame is currently only available on 2019.4 LTS". Thanks for that nickMagg.
     
  15. PlatinumDeveloper

    PlatinumDeveloper

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    thats so much work to re-install all the huge files and it will take another half-hour for my mac.
     
  16. Energy_Focus

    Energy_Focus

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2023
    Posts:
    1


    I use a laptop so I don't have a LAN cable. I use WI-FI at all times. The same issue is occurring with me, so I do not know what to do. I have tried uninstalling too.
     
  17. dongon3000

    dongon3000

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    It helped me, thanks a lot
     
  18. UTYD

    UTYD

    Joined:
    May 8, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same issue but with the newer version of unity hub, and i just deleted unity hub from my whole pc and the reinstalled it from their site and it works
     
  19. Generas

    Generas

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    My Solution was so obvious but hard to see even when it was right before me.
    When Starting a new project in the Hub, select the newest Editor you really have installed now ( middle of the Hub window above the templates) as of registry entrys are older installed versions to see and choose here but it will fail if you choose an editor you havent installed at this moment.
    default was set to the 21 editor from an older install. so i just had to set it to the 22 editor, and voila, project folder created.
    Hope that helps someone.
     
  20. unity-slash

    unity-slash

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    I was finally able to solve the problem, for those who have a linux operating system, in my case it is because I did not have a linux library, the new versions of Editor 2020 and 2023 worked perfectly but the old versions like 2018 did not work for me, and I got the error that has given everyone (that the project directory does not exist after supposedly having created it).

    So I checked the error log json file but nothing helped me from there, just validate that the same thing happened, that It couldn't find the directory.

    So I decided to run the editor from the console to see if it would throw error messages to the console and Eureka! Finally, the error appeared (unfortunately I didn't take a screenshot), the application couldn't find the library libgconf.2.4.. etc, so I installed the library and now it works for me even from the Hub!

    To run the editor from the command line, do the following:
    cd "/<directoryInstalledEditor>/2018.4.36f1/Editor/"
    then
    ./Unity
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Newb_Ninja

    Newb_Ninja

    Joined:
    May 19, 2022
    Posts:
    14
    Reinstall worked for me
     
  22. Pharaz4

    Pharaz4

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    From u/sciencepatrol73 on reddit
    1. Return the license via Manage Licenses in Unity Hub

    2. Add it again

    3. Refresh the licenses (not sure if this step is needed)

    4. create new project...
     
    Vhalen likes this.
  23. computergame8880

    computergame8880

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    Might be compatibility with your OS? I was having the same problem when trying to create and open new projects with an editor that wasn't compatible with my OS, so I changed editors and it works now.
     
  24. nyawallow23

    nyawallow23

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    Me too.
     
  25. XIGN443

    XIGN443

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    In my case:
    This issue is solved when change Unity Editor version 2022.3.8f1 to 2021.3.30f1.
     
  26. Desarius

    Desarius

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I am experiencing the same problem from 2022.3.8f1, and nothing seems to solve the problem.
    I am on Windows 11, tried disabling ACL and Administrator permission and any other thing in this thread, nothing solves.

    Installing unity 2022.3.8f1 standalone apparently make it work but disables part of it like all module expect from Windows and Server is unavailable
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2023
  27. Desarius

    Desarius

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    This problem is also happening in 2022.3.9f1 in equal manner in creation of new projects and opening of already existing ones.
     
  28. cart2015

    cart2015

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Any one if you want to fix this error.
    1. Use Unity Personal License on Manage License
    2. Restart Unity Hub and Editor Again
    3. Create New Project Then works.

    Ask any other question
     
  29. JonnyGTV1

    JonnyGTV1

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Same here, only mine says it can’t create the project . image.jpg I have had this problem for a long time and I tried:

    Updating unity

    I am also on a windows 10

    Changing the file location

    Opening as admin

    And using different versions of unity.

    In the end none of them worked and this has happened over 5 months, got my dad involved too.If there is any way to fix this please tell me.
     
  30. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    4,961
    Try setting your Documents or Desktop as the location, and make sure to use a simple project name like "test".

    If this doesn't work either, check the Hub's log file for indicators. And double-check that the logged in user (egulb?) has "full control" permissions and is the owner of that folder.

    For example, here's the Security and Security => Advanced settings for my Documents folder, CodeSmile is my username:
    upload_2023-12-19_11-26-57.png

    If this looks alright, uninstall all editors and then the hub, then re-install and use the default install location (C:\Program Files ..).

    And be sure NOT to "run as admin", neither the installer, nor the Hub, nor the Editor. Unity never ever requires "run as admin"!

    It's advice that used to be frequently necessary over 10 years ago but still sticks around in people's minds despite applications that require it being extremely rare these days. Doing so can actually cause complications in the first place, in a way that they stick around. Like the installed application henceforth using incorrect paths, permissions, ownership.
     
    judesidloski likes this.
  31. ScottPepe

    ScottPepe

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Unity Hub 3.7.0 2_12_2024 12_13_17 PM.png

    change this setting and it should work, if not good luck, and I think Unity is probably gonna die soon, if i was less stubborn i would move to UE5 now, but i not.
     
    bugfinders likes this.
  32. SLyArt

    SLyArt

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2024
    Posts:
    1
    Hi All - I have the same problem. Running on Windows 11. Unity cannot create a new project. I've uninstalled an older version of Unity, cleared out the recycling bin, removed the license & re-added it, uninstalled and re-installed this new version and it still does not work. Does anyone have any other suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  33. bugfinders

    bugfinders

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Posts:
    1,368
    are you sure you selected an organisation?