Search Unity

Unity Hub will not let me log in to my account on my work network

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by brianpkenney10, Apr 18, 2019.

  1. brianpkenney10

    brianpkenney10

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Hello all,

    Any help is appreciated.

    When I use Unity hub, it will not let me log on to my account at work. Just blanks out after I put in my account info. But when I go into Unity 2018.3.12f1 directly and log into my account, it lets me so I can use Unity services. In order to just do this I had to haggle with our IT Dept to open some things on our filter. Why is this? Now, I just installed Unity 2019.1 and it will not let me log into my account again to use Unity services. What changed from 2018 to 2019?

    I can log onto my account on the web.

    I even tried the beta of Unity hub 2.0 and it still doesn't work.
     
  2. DanielTG

    DanielTG

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Posts:
    97
    Hi @brianpkenney10

    In 2019.1 login is managed exclusively in the Hub as part of our plan to deprecate these pieces that built into the Editor and make them operate more broadly in the Hub (e.g. the project Launcher that was built into 2018.3.12f1 and removed in 2019.1)

    The network end points to login from the Editor in 2018.3 and in the Hub are the same
    HTTPS://accounts.unity3d.com
    HTTPS://api.unity.com
    HTTPS://license.unity3d.com

    Is there any other firewall/antivirus software running on your computer? In some other cases we've seen the Unity.exe may be whitelisted but not the Hub executable which may or may not be related to your issue.

    Please let us know.

    Thanks
    Daniel
     
  3. safaGH

    safaGH

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Posts:
    155
    Hello,

    Can you please report a bug using the hub or any of your editors and join the logs ?

    Best regards,
     
  4. brianpkenney10

    brianpkenney10

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    @DanielTG No other firewall software other than Windows Defender Security Center. And, those are the endpoints I gave to our IT Department. and 2018 started working. Hub still didn't work after that...Tried adding a local firewall exception and no can do.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  5. brianpkenney10

    brianpkenney10

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Location of Hub logs? Or are they all in Editor?
     
  6. brianpkenney10

    brianpkenney10

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    Done.
     
  7. brianpkenney10

    brianpkenney10

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    @DanielTG @safaGH...submitted a bug report. Did everything they said, but didn't work. Contact support? I am going to fiddle with it some more...I would like to have more ammo before I start haggling with our IT Dept. I think its a firewall/filter issue.I can't get over the fact that 2018 lets me do it, but not 2019. In the 2019 editor the account drop down is greyed out. But, the package manager works. The last time this happened with 2018, the package manager wasn't working. Thanks for the help.Told me the following:
    Thanks for reaching out to us.

    Did you try to delete the %appdata%/Roaming/Unity folder?

    If that did not help, you can try running the Unity hub in administrator mode.

    You can also try re-installing the Unity hub. Make sure to download the newest available version.

    If the steps I have mentioned above do not help please contact our Customer Service (https://unity3d.com/learn/support) as this is not a Unity Editor issue. We are handling issues contained to the platform and tools available with the Unity engine, but not the service related problems. Our Support service could provide more information on your specific issue.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  8. PhilipZ0

    PhilipZ0

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Posts:
    16
    I have the same issue as mentioned above. Unity 2018.3 will let me log in and Asset Store/Package Manager works. After downloading 2019.1 Asset Store/Package Manager are working but Collab, Cloud, and Account inside Unity give the "No network connection" message and in Unity Hub I cannot sign in and redeem license and activation for the account. I cannot enter the Unity Pro license and activate Unity Pro. Do you have Unity Hub urls that could be whitelisted for this to work out? I am behind a proxy and have set up the proxy the way that they should be set up. I have reinstalled both the Unity Editor and Unity Hub. Thank you.
     
  9. rickblacker

    rickblacker

    Joined:
    May 1, 2014
    Posts:
    266
    Yep, exact same issue. Can't use hub behind company firewall.
    I realize this may be bad form to mention this here but. I had issues with Epic's game launcher as well. They have a work around where in the icon's properties, you add -http=wininet to the end of the target command line. So their command line looks like
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Epic Games\Launcher\Portal\Binaries\Win32\EpicGamesLauncher.exe" -http=wininet

    For grins, I thought I'd try it at the end of the hubs exe, but it didn't work.
     
  10. ksteinebach

    ksteinebach

    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Any update on this? We are having the same issue behind our proxy. Tried proxy settings in the environmental variables and the received error pertaining to the package manager not being accessible due to proxy.

    Cannot sign-in to hub, accepts credentials then drops us back to the hub not signed in. Same happens in the asset store in the editor as well as just signing in to the editor.

    We are able to sign in to the asset store via website, but that doesn't help because when attempting to download a tutorial it wants to go through the hub.
     
  11. jmorsey

    jmorsey

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    We are also having this problem. The main issue for us is our work proxy uses a self-signed cert and Unity Hub is not letting us log in. The error in the log:

    {"level":"error","message":"Unhandled promise rejection, reason: self signed certificate in certificate chain\n\tstack Error: self signed certificate in certificate chain\n at TLSSocket.<anonymous> (_tls_wrap.js:1098:38)\n at emitNone (events.js:105:13)\n at TLSSocket.emit (events.js:207:7)\n at TLSSocket._finishInit (_tls_wrap.js:628:8)\n at TLSWrap.ssl.onhandshakedone (_tls_wrap.js:458:38)","timestamp":"2019-10-15T23:41:21.345Z"}


    There's a way to add a self-signed cert for the Unity Editor as seen here: https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/upm-network.html#SSL but not for the Hub?
     
  12. RicardoStoke46

    RicardoStoke46

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    To be honest. Having the same problem. Every time I try to use Unity hub, it won't bring up the form to let me sign in. So, stuck.
     
  13. Emiles

    Emiles

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    Seriously though, given i've opened the damn project from Unity Hub, one would expect the Editor to recognise its there, open, waiting ready to give the editor the user creditials.But no... of course not, that would be too much to expect.

    Fortunately i just needed to be able to down load an asset, which you can do through the Editor asset store window. Of course, if you find the login button doesn't work, then click signup to get to the sign page and then click i already have an account. You can the login and get your assets. Of course, this doesn't help if you need Unity Services.

    Hey Unity, Login in is pretty important.
     
    sand_lantern likes this.
  14. Ivan-Pestrikov

    Ivan-Pestrikov

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Same problem here. Submitted a bug report Case 1194721.
     
  15. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    67
    I'm still having this issue also, unity hub version 2.2.0
     
  16. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    67

    Unfortunately, the package store isn't allowing me to download anything anymore. It only gives me the "Open in Unity" option which doesn't work because I can't log in.
     
  17. Ivan-Pestrikov

    Ivan-Pestrikov

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    I had a problem with the licence. Try to return it and reactivate.
    If the problem still persists, contact the Unity support. They will help.
     
  18. kadykov

    kadykov

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Why do not you do everything as it was? I can’t set my assets because of your experiments!
     
  19. rohitdesai

    rohitdesai

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    same problem here, not able to bypass the proxy in unity hub i can still work on 2018 editor which gives me direct log in to package manager and asset store. but i am stuck with 2019 version. this issue is extremely important as you cant even build the android build which fails to build it due to gradle dependencies cant find bec of network issue;
     
  20. pkerrigan

    pkerrigan

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Also having this issue on our school network. Would be curious for a resolution.
     
  21. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    67
    On your school network, it's likely a proxy thing. I doubt you'll be able to get that fixed without talking to your network administrator.

    Alternatively, you should be able to log in to your Unity ID account instead of your main one, and still have access to purchased assets (which is what I eventually did after being in contact with Unity's support team for about 2 weeks).

    Their suggestion being the following:

    "The ultimate workaround would be to sign in using your Unity account. If you have never used this account directly, sign in to https://id.unity.com/en/account/edit using google and change the password to your Unity account."
     
  22. DragonCoder

    DragonCoder

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Same issue here and it is my home computer so no proxy etc. I spent 40$ on assets which I cannot even access now. Wtf?
     
  23. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    67
    See my previous comment. It got me able to download my assets, even in an unideal state.
     
  24. bsfcunitystudent

    bsfcunitystudent

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Any resolution to this as we seem to be having the exact same issue? Login works for the web, but within the UnityHub or Unity itself you cannot login. It tells me if I get my password wrong, so it seems to be communicating, but when I use the correct details it just closes the box, without signing in.

    Tried it by making a linked google ID rather than this one and it worked fine within Unity, but in the UnityHub using Google SignIn Google reported that the browser wasn't secure and didn't complete the login.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  25. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    67
    Did you try the workaround that I posted earlier?
     
unityunity