Search Unity

  1. The 2022.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2022.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Feedback Unity Hub requires High Performance GPU no Mac

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by amjaliks, Mar 6, 2019.

  1. amjaliks

    amjaliks

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    142
    After a project is opened and Editor is launched, Hub requires High Performance GPU on Mac. Even after Editor is closed, Hub keeps to require High Perf GPU.

    Case 1134165.
     
    jrumps likes this.
  2. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,272
    You cannot choose what video card the Hub is allowed to use on a Mac, as we do on PC? That would be in the settings of your GPU.
     
  3. amjaliks

    amjaliks

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    142
    No, there is no such option available on macOS.
     
  4. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,272
    I searched the web and found this that maybe you could try: https://gfx.io/
     
  5. amjaliks

    amjaliks

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    142
    It's nice tool, but it works only with older Macs.
     
  6. amjaliks

    amjaliks

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    142
    It looks you need to keep Hub open, while working on a project. Otherwise, Editor logs out of Unity Cloud Services.
     
  7. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    4,272
    You can probably log in from the editor if this happens.

    Anyway, if you want to launch Unity without the Hub, you can. You just have to use a command line, and once the project open, you'll have to log into your account because bypassing the Hub will disconnect you.

    Example of the command line I'd have to use if I wanted to bypass the Hub:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. "H:\Faire\Unity Technologies\2018.3.7f1\Editor\Unity.exe" -projectPath "H:\Faire\Unity Technologies\Projets\UT tutorials\2D\2D Platformer (Unite Berlin)"
     
  8. amjaliks

    amjaliks

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    142
    Not to use isn't a solution. I use Hub because I find it useful for me.
     
unityunity