Search Unity

Unity hub not opening on mac

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by ArcaneWater, Mar 25, 2018.

  1. ArcaneWater

    ArcaneWater

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    So i have Mac 13' mid 2014. And when i install Unity Hub and try to open it icon just start bouncing like its gonna open but then it closes not showing anything. Anyone had similar problem?
     
  2. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    389
    Hello,

    I'm sorry to hear that! Could you specify your version of MacOS and send me the Hub log file located at "~/Library/Application support/UnityHub/logs" (via direct message)? Hopefully we can track why you can't open the Hub.

    Thanks,
     
  3. robotunity

    robotunity

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Mine also won't start. The log states:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. "error","message":"Failed to start Unity Hub, reason: Error: ENOTDIR: not a directory, scandir '/Applications/Unity/Hub/Editor'
    This is because I have Unity installed NOT in '/Applications'. There is not enough space on my macOS drive for Unity, so I have it installed on another drive. However, I DO have a shortcut to 'Unity' within /Applications. This makes Unity Hub unable to create the directory '/Application/Unity/Hub'. If I rename my 'Unity' shortcut to 'Unity2', then Unity Hub does start. However, Unity Hub fails to activate my license....
     
    Vishal1209 likes this.
  4. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    389
    @robotunity We currently don't allow users to change the install path before the first launch. This will change in the near future but in the meantime could you simply create that folder structure just so that the Hub can start? You will be able to specify a different install path once it's up and running. Sorry for the inconvenience.

    Best,
     
    Vishal1209 and robotunity like this.
  5. robotunity

    robotunity

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.
  6. Vishal1209

    Vishal1209

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Posts:
    1

    Thanks it works for me.
     
  7. cjharris87

    cjharris87

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    “Unity Hub” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software. I get this message on my MacBook Pro (15-inch, 2018) running Catalina. Hub wont open.
     
  8. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    389
    @cjharris87 We are actively working on supporting Apple's latest security requirements but for now Catalina is not supported. You can expect this to change in the coming weeks. Sorry for the inconvenience.
     
  9. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    325
    Wish I had read Catalina was not compatible in the release notes (which are still not included in the hub despite this being a feature a junior programmer could implement)! How many weeks do I have to wait now?
     
    Wyvern1812 likes this.
  10. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Posts:
    4,645
    There is a reason why at every sane company the default stance is to not to upgrade to a fresh OS version right after release, but to wait at least a couple of months.
     
    unity_8249v_YAEeAkHg and bthes like this.
  11. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    325
    Indeed. I wish I was working for a sane company instead of being a hobbyist developer who needed to update to Catalina for other reasons. :) I presumed that Unity might already have been made compatible with Catalina, as it's been available as a beta for months. And I did not notice any warnings from Unity about compatibility with Catalina, an OS on a platform which generally sees incredibly quick uptake of new versions and which is used by many developers. But perhaps they were there and I just missed them. Instead, I saw Unity staff members write stuff like this on these forums, in the Installing Unity on macOS Catalina thread: "So here again I have verified today that with the latest version of the hub I was able to install 2018.4/2017.4 and the latest version of 2019.3 without issue." That was written a week ago. Before @AbrahamDUnity 's message.
     
    Wyvern1812 likes this.
  12. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    389
    @transat We are very much aware of Apple and Microsoft releases and do our best to support the latest platform updates on time. However Catalina comes with souped up security policies that involve (among other things) submitting applications for security audits before every release. In order to comply with these demands we needed to do major updates to our application framework which are still not complete. We do have a large portion of the team working on it and it is our top priority right now. I hope this clarifies our position on Catalina support.

    Also here are the Hub's release notes. Although we don't typically list out unsupported OS versions in there we'll consider your suggestion.

    Best,
     
    jdgauchat likes this.
  13. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    325
    Cheers @AbrahamDUnity. Thanks for the update. For the record, 2019.3.0b7 is now working well for me on Catalina. But only after I deleted some packages from my project. I suspect ProBuilder was the problem child but am not sure.
     
    AbrahamDUnity likes this.
  14. jdgauchat

    jdgauchat

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Posts:
    18
    If you get the error “Unity Hub” can’t be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software,
    just go to Apple/System Preferences, select Security and Privady, and in the General panel click the Open Anyway button.
     
    Tonksy, LUCID-Rob, Xain and 2 others like this.
  15. mhampshire

    mhampshire

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Can confirm this is a work around until a fix is pushed out
     
    dick, VinutaHe and WhiteBubba like this.
  16. luqmangrune

    luqmangrune

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    This is working like a charm, thankyou
     
  17. bthes

    bthes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    It's not working for me. After applying this Unity Hub simply crashes.
     
  18. xone47

    xone47

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    To get around the security checks, do the following...

    right click on Unity in the Applications folder,
    hold down the option key
    click "open"
     
  19. bthes

    bthes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Tried this, didn't help. Also tried to disable System Integrity Protection (SIP) (issuing sudo spctl --master-disable in a Terminal window in recovery mode). Nope.

    The error seen is:

    UnityHubCrash.png

    Examining the error report I found, that the function GetDeviceSerialNumber() maybe the problem and voila, I found out that my system has lost the serial number ( -> About this Mac)

    AboutThisMac.png

    Unfortenately the tool "blank board serialiser" doesn't work on my mac.

    Does anybody has an idea if this could cause the problem and if it does how to fix it?

    Regards Bernd




    ------- CRASH REPORT ---------
    System Integrity Protection: disabled

    Crashed Thread: 0 CrBrowserMain Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)
    Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000
    Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

    Termination Signal: Illegal instruction: 4
    Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0x4
    Terminating Process: exc handler [1662]

    Application Specific Information:
    *** CFRelease() called with NULL ***

    Thread 0 Crashed:: CrBrowserMain Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
    0 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff371d820e CFRelease.cold.1 + 14
    1 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x00007fff3702fefa CFRelease + 101
    2 license.node 0x00000001113c59c0 systeminfo::GetDeviceSerialNumber() + 96
    3 license.node 0x00000001113c2c4a GetSerial(Nan::FunctionCallbackInfo<v8::Value> const&) + 26

    4 license.node 0x00000001113c3ba1 Nan::imp::FunctionCallbackWrapper(v8::FunctionCallbackInfo<v8::Value> const&) + 193
     
    dany_yacoub likes this.
  20. dany_yacoub

    dany_yacoub

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I have the exact same issue,
    Did you find a way to solve it ?
     
  21. bthes

    bthes

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    No. I have no serial number in the "About this Mac" dialog.
    I have to go to a apple solution provider and it will cost 40-60€ to fix this issue (they will set this with a official apple tool). Have to plan some time for this...
     
  22. TooTallDMD

    TooTallDMD

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Will notifications be made to users when this Catalina support is successfully implemented?
     
  23. RobiOscar

    RobiOscar

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Posts:
    1
    Yes I can't bypass the security settings, meaning that I can't install on Catalina. When is this issue going to be fixed?
     
  24. LumoKvin

    LumoKvin

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2019
    Posts:
    141
    I just bought a brand new Mac Mini so that I can develop ios apps. I am getting this error.
     
  25. oscar1580

    oscar1580

    Joined:
    Today
    Posts:
    1
    Is there any news on when the issue is going to fix?