Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Unity Hub loading screen

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by NattyZepko, Sep 18, 2022.

  1. NattyZepko

    NattyZepko

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Posts:
    4
    After the update it is just stuck, frozen like this.
    Restarting the PC didn't work.

    upload_2022-9-18_21-37-54.png
     
  2. NattyZepko

    NattyZepko

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2022
    Posts:
    4
    Reinstalling solved it for me
     
  3. laimav

    laimav

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Posts:
    21
    Hi,

    Thanks for flagging this issue! Could you please report a bug and attach the Hub log to the bug report? This would help us investigate what caused this issue

    The Hub log file (info-log.json) can be found here:
    Windows: C:\users\[yourusername]\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub\logs
    Mac: ~/Library/Application Support/UnityHub/logs
    Linux: ~/.config/UnityHub/logs
     
    skyaw6736 likes this.
  4. MH2B

    MH2B

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Same for me here. Each time I have to reinstall it. Or I have to manually update it from C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\unityhub-updater installer.exe
    .
    .
    .
    Ok this one is new.. just Quit the Unity Hub completely and then turn ur internet connection off and open the Unity Hub now it will immediately open it without loading stuff and then u can turn ur connection on back
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2023
  5. AurelliaStrass

    AurelliaStrass

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Reinstalling nor doing `brew upgrade` doesn't fix it for me on macOS
     
  6. stylophone

    stylophone

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    37
    Same here. Seems it has something to do with the network, turning off/on wifi sometimes resolves the issue. And it also prevents me reboot the system.
     
  7. thexdd

    thexdd

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    Mac m1 having same issue. What does it take so long?
     
  8. lorfau

    lorfau

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    hey I still have no solution pls someone help :((
     
  9. AstraGamesStudios

    AstraGamesStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2022
    Posts:
    18
    FIXED: i had the same issue. I went to C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Local\unityhub-updater and ran the installer from there. That reinstalled the unity hub and everything worked normally. All my projects were there as well. You may have to sign in again tho. hope this helps someone!
     
  10. phoenix045

    phoenix045

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    SOLVED: I just turned off my wifi and launched my project then turned it back on
     
    MoAmri and Mr-Fierce like this.
  11. jacksparrow102a

    jacksparrow102a

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Quit unityhub and then go to C:\users\[yourusername]\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub delete all file then open again. Work for me
     
    itsnottme, BamBooEd, union20 and 5 others like this.
  12. Andrei_V_Draghici

    Andrei_V_Draghici

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    I also had to delete the Roaming folder to fix the issue..

    How can this even happen, what could possibly be preventing not just loading, but the start up loading for such a lightweight looking app?
     
  13. Ultradarkbeast

    Ultradarkbeast

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks it worked
     
  14. lileinsteinjr

    lileinsteinjr

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I have tried reinstalling and even turning off the internet connection and nothing changed
     
    theradmad likes this.
  15. Cn-Studio

    Cn-Studio

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    the same issue I have tried reinstall it and turning off the internet connection and still not working
     
  16. khuarizmi98

    khuarizmi98

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Hey i got a same issues.unity hub keep loading. why does it happen. any clue?
     
  17. Tosin1010

    Tosin1010

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you so much! It worked!
     
  18. MintTree117

    MintTree117

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Posts:
    340
    For anyone on Linux, you can simply kill the unity hub task and re-open.
     
  19. MintTree117

    MintTree117

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Posts:
    340
    I'd also like to add on Linux Mint 21.1 (Ubuntu 22.04) closing Unity-Hub does not kill the process. There are still unity-hub.bin processes, for each hub session I had. If you manually kill them Hub will open no problem.
     
  20. Weird_Boiii

    Weird_Boiii

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    ho
    how sir
     
  21. enderesting

    enderesting

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    had the same problem on ubuntu, i opened system monitor and killed all unity processes, and it worked for me!
     
    MintTree117 likes this.
  22. MintTree117

    MintTree117

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Posts:
    340
    Use your built-in task manager based on your distro.
     
  23. rileypatrick827

    rileypatrick827

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    How am I meant to do that if I don’t have an account already? I am attempting to open Unity Hub and make an account but I can’t open it, meaning I can’t use my account to open a project
     
  24. m_rana

    m_rana

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    It worked for me. Thank you!
     
    MintTree117 likes this.
  25. ttssukuyomi

    ttssukuyomi

    Joined:
    May 23, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    work for me, thanks brooo
     
  26. ecentinela

    ecentinela

    Joined:
    May 23, 2020
    Posts:
    7
    Today I upgraded Unity Hub and now the loading screen keeps forever.

    I tried both things that I can see in this thread (removing C:\users\[yourusername]\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub / reinstall the update) and the issue remains.

    Any other solution?
     
    dbtactic likes this.
  27. wadidi

    wadidi

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hi!

    I have also updated my Hub today and currently face the same issue as ecentinela. I see some licensing client error in the Unity Hub's logs:

    {"timestamp":"2023-10-25T16:15:51.300Z","level":"error","moduleName":"LicensingSdkService","message":"[ 'Failed to launch licensing client: Error: exit code: 5, pid: 25116' ]"}
     
    dbtactic likes this.
  28. wadidi

    wadidi

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2017
    Posts:
    2
  29. dbtactic

    dbtactic

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I'm experiencing the same issue with the latest Unity Hub.
     
  30. lukamoon

    lukamoon

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    Tried deleting all temporary files relating to Unity Hub and reinstalling completely - still getting this issue on the latest version. Unusable in its current state.
     
  31. laimav

    laimav

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2021
    Posts:
    21
    Hi!

    We released the new version of the Hub - Hub 3.6.1-beta1.

    This version of the Unity Hub fixes an issue which caused the license client to crash and resulted in some users being stuck on the hub loading screen.

    Please use the following link to download the version:

    https://s3.amazonaws.com/public.cloud.unity3d.com/hub/prod/UnityHubSetupBeta.exe

    Kindly follow the steps below:
    • Close all open Editors

    • Make sure Unity Hub is closed (check the system tray)

    • Uninstall the currently installed Unity Hub

    • Install the new version
    Please let us know if Hub is launching successfully.

    Thank you for the cooperation and patience!
     
    Shieldur and NikoKartas like this.
  32. NikoKartas

    NikoKartas

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Hi
    I had the same issue, but with new Hub 3.6.1-beta1 version everything is working perfectly.
    Thank you!
     
  33. Tosin1010

    Tosin1010

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you, it worked!
     
  34. lvialle

    lvialle

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks, I had the same issue, and only the 3.6.1-beta1 fixed it!
     
  35. erileysen

    erileysen

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    The beta worked for me
     
  36. Shieldur

    Shieldur

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2023
    Posts:
    1

    Thankyou so much for this, it worked!
     
  37. yehudaKarasenty

    yehudaKarasenty

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    What helped me:
    If you are using a Mac and have more than one user, you have to exit the unity hub in all the other users in order to open it in yours.
     
  38. tylertempdev

    tylertempdev

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you, my ass saver
     
  39. karthickdl

    karthickdl

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    One thing or the other is helping, but why is this happening at the first place?
     
  40. arana

    arana

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Clear cache on mac:
    ~/Library/Unity/cache
     
  41. Someonekoi

    Someonekoi

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2024
    Posts:
    1
    thank you so much it fixed the prob for me
     
  42. Sappytheleaf

    Sappytheleaf

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2024
    Posts:
    2
    facing same issue . I am using Ubuntu 22.04 LTS
     

    Attached Files:

  43. DONKEY40

    DONKEY40

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    This worked for me! Thanks!