Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub is a battery killer !!!

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by fubbi1000, May 19, 2019.

  1. fubbi1000

    fubbi1000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    As you see, Unity Hub consumes most of the battery's energy, more than Photoshop and Maya.
    30% battery's energy in half an hours. I have to use power adapter.
    The CPU fan kept turning and the sound was very loud.
    Screen Shot 2019-05-19 at 4.25.12 PM.png
     
  2. ericalbers

    ericalbers

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Probably because it has 3 versions of itself running needlessly in the background at all times, wasting ram and resources. Unity Hub : Solving problems you don't have, while leaving all the bugs in Unity.

    upload_2019-5-19_13-46-45.png
     
    halley likes this.
  3. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,576
    You can kill Unity Hub after Unity launch.
    I don't know what is doing, data / coins mining, or whatever.
     
    xVergilx and hippocoder like this.
  4. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    25,183
    Usually just bitcoin mining and keystroke recording, nothing to worry about.















    joke ofc
     
  5. fubbi1000

    fubbi1000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    If I kill Unity Hub after Unity launch. A Popup window and a loading status show all the time, I cannot close and skip it.

    Screen Shot 2019-05-20 at 8.18.45 AM.png
     
  6. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,576
    Hmm.
    Maybe Unity Hub on mac / linux / windows are treated differently, as on windows that trick works fine for me.
     
  7. fubbi1000

    fubbi1000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Posts:
    42
    Is there any other tricks to kill unity hub?
     
  8. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    4,576
    Well, adding antivirus exception? :p