Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. We've opened up a space to discuss, share feedback, and showcase everything related to the Unity Shader Graph! Come show us what you've made.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub insists on re-installing VS2017 when only using VS2019

Discussion in '2019.1 Beta' started by aybe, Feb 5, 2019.

  1. aybe

    aybe

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    90
    Currently I've removed VS2017 in favor of VS2019 but every time I upgrade the beta (currently 2019.1.0b2) it will always launch the VS installer to install a minimal setup of VS2017.

    Note that removing VS2017 does not impair usage at all.
     
  2. cassandraL

    cassandraL

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    60
    Hello,
    the IDE is installed because it is checked automatically in the components list when it is not detected.
    Since you have a newer version of Visual Studio, the detection says "VS2017 is not installed".
    Therefore, we will work on making sure this behaviour is changed.
    In the meantime, just make sure Visual Studio 2017 is unchecked before installing a new version of Unity.
     
  3. aybe

    aybe

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    90
    It does install it even though it's not checked :).

    (it's not the first time I'm upgrading, I regularly upgrade on every beta so I'm becoming familiar with this issue)

    See that:

    Unity_Hub_2019-02-07_19-04-14.png

    Unity_Hub_2019-02-07_19-06-53.png

    vs_setup_bootstrapper_2019-02-07_19-07-35.png

    vs_installershell_2019-02-07_19-09-34.png

    vs_installershell_2019-02-07_19-12-45.png
     
  4. aybe

    aybe

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    90
    Also, there's another issue from 2019.2.0a4, you open a project, it gets opened but then unity hub is launched again ... you have to close it manually.
     
  5. cassandraL

    cassandraL

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    60
    Ok, the Visual Studio that gets installed even if not checked is a bug. We will look into it.
    Thank you for reporting it!

    As for 2019.2.0a4, could you specify how you open your project so we can reproduce the behaviour you see? Thank you.
     
  6. aybe

    aybe

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    90
    I start from Unity (not the Hub) icon that I've pinned in task bar.
     
  7. aybe

    aybe

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Posts:
    90
    Using 1.5.0 and 2019.1.0b3 just found something,

    - the first time you'll install a new version of Unity, it won't install VS2017 (not selected in options),

    - but then it'll raise an error message, complaining that it couldn't find VS2017

    - forgot to grab a screenshot, so I uninstalled Unity and reinstalled it to take one, now it installs VS2017 !!!

    And the hub still launches itself again after opening a project albeit with an error message now:

    Unity_Hub_2019-02-12_18-55-44.png