Search Unity

Question Unity Hub Freezes runtime

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by SomeoneNameless, Jan 30, 2022.

1. SomeoneNameless

SomeoneNameless

I am just learning Unity. I am scripting for my objective. After certain frames, the Unity Hub freezes and it does not get resolved even after waiting for half an hour. There was no problem until I added a for loop of a maximum of 25 iterations ( or a little bit more ). But after that, the Unity Hub keeps on freezing and not even on the loop ! anywhere ! even places that run fine without this new addition !

I wonder if it is a problem with my settings. I am aiming for android platform. I use only one rigidbody and a few colliders that are simply square or circle. The program I am referring to is about 400 lines ( I have other scripts too but I unchecked them so that only this could run ). Could that be a problem ? What could be the problem and what could be done for the rectification ? Even if there is a way I could know where my code goes wrong ( if at all ), it would be of much help. I will attach some resemblance to the problem :

private void some_function()
    {
    Debug.Log("There is a problem");
    }
    ^--- work fine
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    private void some_function()
    {
    Debug.Log("There is a problem");
    for(byte i=a_certain_variable;i>=0;i--)
    {
    Debug.Log(i);
    }
    }
    ^--- freezes after sometime

I need to mention that the variable defining range of the for loop is not any trouble and other functions that use this same variable is working fine. It normally has a range of less than 25 but might go a little bit upwards.

2. MelvMay

MelvMay

Unity Technologies

I don't see what this has to do with the Unity Hub. Moving this to the scripting forums.

Any freeze will be you entering an infinite loop.

3. Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2022
    Bunny83 likes this.
  4. Bunny83

Bunny83