Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub Feedback

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by tonic, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    90
    Hi @AlanMattano ,

    For the ProjectVersion.txt problem, the bahavior is based on the Editor opening the project. The Hub currently do not handle this part, but we will evaluate to offer a consistent flow.

    For resizable Hub, it's currently on our roadmap.
    As for the open folder location, it's on our feature request list. Thanks for the UX suggestion.
     
    AlanMattano likes this.
  2. misher

    misher

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Recently I had very bad performance within Unity Editor caused by Unity Hub background processes (Windows 10). Lags immediatly goes away when i kill them with task manager. I used many versions of unity editor, the most laggy was 2017.4.1f1, but it also present with 2018+.
     
  3. michaelwolf95

    michaelwolf95

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    When installing a new Unity version from the Hub, there's only a small, blue progress bar indicating the progress of the installation. This gives very little feedback for the user, and obscures info that developers might want to see.

    It would be nice if there was an option to use the original installer UI.
     
  4. brinca

    brinca

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Feature request:
    • Ability to change the project name to a custom string (for display purposes only, within Unity Hub)

    Use case:
    For versioning/organization reasons, I often have my Unity projects under a "<Project Name>/unity" folder, so that I can have other, non-Unity related folders under the same root (e.g. "<Project Name>/art", "<Project Name>/marketing", etc).
    The problem is that, since both the Unity launcher and Unity Hub take the project name from the project folder, I get a bunch of projects listed as "unity".
    This is not critical as I can still differentiate between the projects by looking at the path, but it would be nice to be able to customize each name, at least within the Unity Hub context.

    Implementation suggestions:
    1. When the user edits the project name, store a string associated with that project's path, and on every listing first check to see if a string is stored for the given entry's path, and if not display the folder name as usual
    2. Alternatively, simply check to see if the project's folder name is "unity", in which case it should use the parent folder's name instead (and it could check for other common names as well, such as "dev", "client", "game", etc)
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2018
    dri_richard and GameDevCouple_I like this.
  5. CaseyHofland

    CaseyHofland

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Hey, so I just read about Unity Hub and Templates and that I could post my ideas here...

    Please, PLEASE, make adding, customising and (probably not gonna happen, but) overriding templates a thing. It would be so handy if I can just pick a template that has all my property drawers, custom editors, editor windows, serialisations and some regular assets pre-installed.

    Also, what would be really cool is a high-performance / low-performance hybrid template, where the graphics adjust depending on what platform you're on. It would in most cases probably be better if the developers regulated this themselves, but if it's customisable enough it would let those developers regulate where needed, and what they overlooked is now, automatically, not eating up any precious GPU anymore. But I don't know enough about Unity-settings to know if what I propose is possible, but I hope it is.

    And lastly, Unity 2018... tops. Keep at it (and make serialisable Dictionaries a thing already, God... bless!)

    Thumbs up to the whole team.
     
  6. GameDevCouple_I

    GameDevCouple_I

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,135
    Please let us rename projects, and project folders from hub
     
  7. Jes28

    Jes28

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    250
    Add button to view whats new for each version of Unity in install tab
     
  8. RobG88

    RobG88

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Had been using Unity Hub fine, upgraded to Unity .17, seemed okay since it was released.

    Installing 2018.1.2.f1 and 2018.2.0b6 have some how messed up all my installs.

    Trying to launch ANY project with either 2018 install or 2017.4.4f1 now all result with this issue/error:

    upload_2018-5-29_22-26-36.png

    upload_2018-5-29_22-27-19.png

    I'm now UNINSTALLING EVERYTHING, Hub and Unity in hopes that I can clean registry and get an install working.
     
  9. sebas77

    sebas77

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    597
    using this thread to add another feedback from me: can you add a menu option that links the releases notes for each install?
     
  10. Hypertectonic

    Hypertectonic

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    Feature request:
    • Add a link to the changelog for each version next to the download buttons.

    It's a really simple request, and really important. Would save me and others the hassle of looking for the changelog each time we are looking to download a new version!

    Feature request:
    • Could we also have an uninstall option? Being able to get rid of all the ancient unity installs that litter my computer from the same place I install them would be sweet.
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2018
  11. Selaphiel

    Selaphiel

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Posts:
    21
    Can there be a cloud sync of local projects, so where ever i install hub, i get all my projects. Unity collaborate's direct integration could also work.
     
  12. SibochCZ

    SibochCZ

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Once the installation of some component fails, the Hub doesn't show options for uninstall or add components.
    In the menu I can see just Set as preferred and remove from the list. Happened twice. (Mac OS)
     
  13. Alexees

    Alexees

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    114
    It would be nice if you could keep the hub open to launch several versions of Unity at once. Right now, for each version I have to reopen it because it closes on launch. I'm working with 2 projects simultaneously sometimes

    Edit: It just hides, nevermind
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2018
  14. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
    My hub just hides. I use it on macOS though.
     
    Alexees likes this.
  15. ludos

    ludos

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Posts:
    53
    I havent read all the feedbacks, but what i am missing is to be able to install any Unity version available in the hub. I have projects i am working on in a team and mixing versions is a bad idea. Yesterday i updated the unity version on one computer, this day i cannot install the same version on another computer because it's there is only a newer version available on the hub. Of course i can install it manually, but whats the purpose of the hub then?
     
    mikelo likes this.
  16. Alexees

    Alexees

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    114
    You mean beta versions and such. Yes I'd like to see an option to pick whatever version you need.
     
  17. HeadClot88

    HeadClot88

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    675
    Can we get the option through the unity hub to choose where we should be able to Install Unity3D? Like on another drive or something.
     
  18. Alexees

    Alexees

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    114
    @HeadClot88
    When you click the cog/ settings icon at the top, you can choose the installations root folder where all installs go.
     
  19. pionone

    pionone

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    A link to the release notes on the "Installs->Official Releases" page would be handy.
     
  20. Trond

    Trond

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Hello, i just cleaned my computer of old Unity installs, and i noticed Hub does not detect that is now points to installs which is no longer present. It would be nice to at least have a refresh button, where Hub would prompt you a dialog telling you that one or more installs no longer exists, and gives you the option to remove it/them from the list. Thanks.
     
  21. Bamboy

    Bamboy

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Unity Hub v1.0.0
    It just doesn't work if you don't have an internet connection. Can't open any project (does nothing) or create a new project.
    You have to manually open the unity version you want to use.
     
  22. Micz84

    Micz84

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    169
    Why beta downloads from Unity Hub is delayed in comparison to the website?
    I start Unity get a notification about new version check in Unity Hub and there is now a new version but on the website there is.
     
  23. Alexees

    Alexees

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    114
    My suggestion is to show the platform selection popup the first time a project is opened and the library is missing. My setup is switching between Android, UWP and Standalone a lot and sometimes I just have to delete the library for a fresh reimport. Often I forget that the default platform is not the last one I used but standalone when just clicking the project. It would be nice to be prompted instead of remembering to press the 3 dots to do that specifically.
     
  24. orb

    orb

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    2,960
    As long as it's an option that would be great. Not so great for those who only ever build locally for one platform and pull from version control to build on the others ;)
     
  25. UDN_3b9dee39-3d59-439c-99f1-8ce6cd3a2e1a

    UDN_3b9dee39-3d59-439c-99f1-8ce6cd3a2e1a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    When I open the "advanced open" window & close it, trying to open it again just launches the "preferred" Unity version. Why am I limited to opening this window only once?
     
  26. joeksy

    joeksy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2017
    Posts:
    90
    Hi,
    This seems to be a bug.
    I just tried and do not seem to reproduce.
    The next time it happens, please, may you report a bug using the "Report a bug" from tray menu? This will attach the logs and we will be able to observe if an error occurs.

    Thanks for reporting

    Joe
     
  27. yatagarasu

    yatagarasu

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Still can not fix the project upgrade bug?
     
  28. Dover8

    Dover8

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Posts:
    80
    Shared Resources folder for Unity installs. In particular for Script templates (so I don't need to replace them for every Unity install/update).
     
    Gillissie_BnC likes this.
  29. Gillissie_BnC

    Gillissie_BnC

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Why does the hub window close when I open a project from it? There doesn't seem to be a way to re-show the window without quitting the hub and relaunching it. I'd be ok with it auto-quitting instead of just closing the window and still running in the background. I'm on Mac.
     
  30. 13Flo

    13Flo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Posts:
    68
    Hi there,

    I really love the Hub and I wanted to report an small issue that is potentially impacting a lot of people and very easy to fix.

    After I realized I could right click on the tray icon and quickly select one of the projects I'm working on, I started using that feature a lot. It is just great. But, very often that menu gets hidden by another Windows menu (see screenshot). Moreover, that menu itself seems buggy and don't close on click-out. Very annoying :)

    It's very easy to reproduce, hold the right click button on the icon then move slightly up (that's what you would do next to select a project, right?) and release. The issue happens 50% of the time (on Windows 10 at least).

    I realized one thing: all other icons in the tray opens their contextual menu on UP. But you guys open the menu on DOWN.

    Keep up the great work guys! I also love the new button on the Download Archive. Just amazing!
     

    Attached Files:

  31. Mickey_omar

    Mickey_omar

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2017
    Posts:
    7
  32. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    1,281
    Hub 1.3.2: I need to sign in each first time I start the hub every day. To do so, I need to click on "Sign In"; nothing seems to happen but after a while the hub updates itself and I am logged in.

    Not sure this is supposed to happen. ;)

    Edit: I forgot: the "In the Cloud" tab loads endlessly, which is weird because I have nothing on the cloud.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
  33. APSchmidt

    APSchmidt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    1,281
    When we launch the hub, could we get a popping up message informing us of the newly released versions of Unity instead of:
    • having to visit the "Beta Releases" and "Official Releases" every day?
    • having to launch the versions that are already installed on our machines and get the "New version available" pop up window?
    :)
     
  34. Skotrap7

    Skotrap7

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Frequently seeing "License Errors" and having to "Re-activate" my license. Rather annoying.