Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Unity Hub can't find any existing Unity build/Locating manually doesn't work.

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by JakubSmaga, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    401
    Unity Hub shows that I have no Unity installed even though I have 2018.1 Beta 4 on my PC (Ignore the other versions, those have just SketchUpAPI.dll file in them), locating it manually doesn't fix the problem. https://gyazo.com/7bad00e1f589d5d5833b1afae23ed081

    Also; @Charles_Beauchemin Was Unity Hub sub-forum public before or is this the first day? (0.11 was posted 17 Jan, that's why I am asking)
     
  2. Charles_Beauchemin

    Charles_Beauchemin

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2017
    Posts:
    240
    We will look into this 'Locate a version' issue and get back to you.
    To answer your question about the forum, we had a private alpha before. It has just been made public today.
     
    JakubSmaga likes this.
  3. cassandraL

    cassandraL

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    To be sure, that version 2018.1.0b4 that you are locating, it was installed and not built?
     
  4. JakubSmaga

    JakubSmaga

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Posts:
    401
    It was installed before. (I've fixed it by downloading it from the Hub)
     
  5. Grumpy-Dot

    Grumpy-Dot

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Posts:
    18
    Unity Hub worked perfectly on the personal PC I have at home, it located previously installed versions of Unity (2017.3 and 5.3.4), but it does not do the same on the PC at work. I can't locate any of the Unity versions I have installed locally. I have even reinstalled the Unity runtimes and the Unity Hub. I believe it would be helpful to get some sort of error messages if Unity Hub is not able to manually add a Unity version.
     
  6. livingtarget

    livingtarget

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Same thing for me, here's a video:

    Most of my installs are not vanilla installations and are patch versions, for example: 5.6.4p4 etc.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2018
    Grumpy-Dot likes this.
  7. cassandraL

    cassandraL

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    47
    Thank you for your feedback. We will look into this issue.