Search Unity

Unity Hub and HiDPI

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by Eraph, Dec 28, 2018.

  1. Eraph

    Eraph

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    Unity Hub adheres to my desktop's DPI settings and looks pretty great. However, when I try to open Unity (2018.3.0f2) from the Hub, the scale is back to being tiny. There are known workarounds such as setting environment variables (GDK_SCALE if I'm not mistaken) or setting the variables before opening, but these don't seem to be picked up by the editor. Any suggestions?
     
  2. DrunkenDogcow

    DrunkenDogcow

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    You can launch the editor directly without using Hub. Hub shows you the path of any installed editors, so use that path to launch from your terminal window:

    GDK_SCALE=2 GDK_DPI_SCALE=0.5 /path/to/my/editor


    (GDK_DPI_SCALE is important because GDK_SCALE by itself will result in a oversized menubar being drawn. GDK_DPI_SCALE mitigates that.)
     
  3. kokizzu

    kokizzu

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    is there any way to start editor without hub, since running Editor/Unity now (since Unity Hub 2.x probably) just the same as running the hub.
     
  4. kokizzu

    kokizzu

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    nevermind, found a workaround to prevent opening unity hub (open the editor directly on 2019.x)

    GDK_SCALE=2 GDK_DPI_SCALE=0.5 /path/to/my/editor -projectpath /path/to/project