Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Unity Hub 3.6.1 takes too long to activate license

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by JonathanBartel, Nov 7, 2023.

  1. JonathanBartel

    JonathanBartel

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    47
    Just updated to Unity Hub 3.6.1. I now get an error message at the top of the Hub that says, "It took too long to activate your license. Please try again." I've tried again. I've tried restarting the Hub. I've tried restarting the computer. This is happening on my Mac and on my PC. Was not having this issue prior to updating to 3.6.1. Previously, I was on 3.5.2. I had not updated to 3.6.0 prior to updating to 3.6.1.
     
    lamancuso12, soulmaze, Argos and 2 others like this.
  2. JonathanBartel

    JonathanBartel

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    47
    I just went to id.unity.com and the page wouldn't load. Maybe this is a service outage? Status.unity.com is showing "operational" across the board.
     
  3. ybradette

    ybradette

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Posts:
    8
    I'm getting the same thing. Also, package manager is broken for me. Using the latest 2022.3.12
     
    Malbers and JonathanBartel like this.
  4. GravenFear

    GravenFear

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Yup, can't work on any of my projects today because Unity is failing to activate my license and also... HOW THE HELL DOES UNITY HUB NOT HAVE AN OFFLINE MODE IN 2023?!?!?!?
     
  5. PhantomSphere

    PhantomSphere

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Same for me, I just can't get Unity to identify my license. Reassuring to see I'm not the only one
     
    JonathanBartel likes this.
  6. PanthenEye

    PanthenEye

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2,128
    Please don't block people from working going forward with defunct hub releases.
     
    Krobulex and GravenFear like this.
  7. ybradette

    ybradette

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Posts:
    8
    they could have at least updated the services status page. it still says everything is hunky dory o_O
     
  8. JonathanBartel

    JonathanBartel

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    47
    ybradette and PhantomSphere like this.
  9. PanthenEye

    PanthenEye

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Posts:
    2,128
    UnityID/Login now also shows major incident, I guess no work is happening today. Thankfully, we're not at a time sensitive release window, but this always online bullshit is... bullshit.
     
  10. JonathanBartel

    JonathanBartel

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Posts:
    47
  11. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    574
    Getting the same message but I can keep working in 2021.3. Not sure why some cannot.
     
  12. CHRONOMASTER

    CHRONOMASTER

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Try disabling your internet, fully close Unity Hub, reopen Unity Hub, then open the Unity Editor.
    It should now load, dismiss any message.
    Now you can re-enable your internet.
     
    Gamba04 and Jakob96 like this.
  13. EmooRat

    EmooRat

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    yes i got it too
     
  14. XJonOneX

    XJonOneX

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Posts:
    114
    Don't delete the C:\ProgramData\Unity folder like another thread suggests, or it will lock you out of your projects. :rolleyes:

    I'm assuming doing so deletes the license file, which hub can no longer access from online. So going offline won't help if you delete it. :(
     
    GravenFear likes this.
  15. DoubleMeta

    DoubleMeta

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Anyone have a link to old versions of Unity Hub?
     
  16. JonnyHilly

    JonnyHilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    Same thing... takes long time or fails to validate license.... now refuses to acknowledge I have the right unity version installed... and says my project is broken. no changes in git
     
  17. JonnyHilly

    JonnyHilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    tried this, but it still says missing editor version, and that my project is invalid : (
     
  18. JonnyHilly

    JonnyHilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    Deleted Hub 3.6.1 from my PC, just launched unity version directly... project loaded just fine. Project was not broken or missing like hub was insisting.
     
  19. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    574
    Whoa! I didn't think we could use Unity without Hub anymore.
     
  20. JonnyHilly

    JonnyHilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    That might depend on the unity version, I loaded 2021.3.19f1
     
  21. JonnyHilly

    JonnyHilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    crap.... looks like I can't import any of my assets into project from the asset store though.... Jeez :'(
    starting unreal tutorials.... lol

    is there an actual fix for this from Unity ?

    Status says major issue yesterday, is fixed.... but seems exactly the same to me...
    https://status.unity.com/incidents/165104
    https://status.unity.com/
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2023
  22. JonnyHilly

    JonnyHilly

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Posts:
    749
    ok reinstalled Hub... works ! yay
     
  23. DoubleMeta

    DoubleMeta

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Same here on new install.
     
    JonnyHilly likes this.
  24. wifitofu

    wifitofu

    Joined:
    May 18, 2021
    Posts:
    6
    Still happening for me, "It took too long to activate your license. Please try again."

    -edit: manually opening the project with hub uninstalled worked, thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2023
  25. Stevens-R-Miller

    Stevens-R-Miller

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Posts:
    679
    Happening to me now too. Will try uninstalling Hub.
     
    wifitofu likes this.
  26. Stevens-R-Miller

    Stevens-R-Miller

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Posts:
    679
    Oh, wow! Uninstalling Hub and starting Unity directly loaded my project. I had been using Hub 3.6.1. Older install of 3.5.0 on a different machine is having no problems.

    This is almost unbelievable.
     
    wifitofu likes this.
  27. reza_b_mirzaei

    reza_b_mirzaei

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Experiencing the same issue, Unity Hub won't open any project due to it taking to long to activate license.

    upload_2023-11-13_21-24-18.png

    Starting Unity directly works fine, projects (2021.3.0f1) load normally.
     
  28. tomkail_betterup

    tomkail_betterup

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2021
    Posts:
    106
    We're seeing this too. This is awful, please fix this ASAP.
     
    petredish likes this.
  29. Myelin-H

    Myelin-H

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2023
    Posts:
    3
    I am experiencing the same issue. I was able to open the project manually as suggested.

    For those who may need it, what I did is:
    1. Uninstall Unity Hub.
    2. Open the Unity version for my current project.
    3. Open the existing project.
    Yet, this issue is beyond annoying.
     
  30. ntt_bmc

    ntt_bmc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2023
    Posts:
    2
  31. petredish

    petredish

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2022
    Posts:
    2
    Same here. I picked the wrong day to get into Unity, personal license “took too long to activate”
     
  32. JJ441

    JJ441

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I had same problem today.
    And I am using. Unity 2020.3.23
    After ten attempts I finally got into my project.
     
  33. betaFlux

    betaFlux

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Posts:
    112
    Same. When opening a project despite the warning, Package Manager can't load "My Assets" and it says "There are no assets".
     
  34. ntt_bmc

    ntt_bmc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    In my case, the message appears and if I open any project it starts opening Unity but un a few seconds the hub reboots itself and the ongoing unity gets closed.
     
  35. DontTime

    DontTime

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2023
    Posts:
    1
  36. soulmaze

    soulmaze

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I'm new to unity I just want to create a 3d urp project but it needs to be downloaded and it gives me a "Couldn't download the template: Validation Failed" error. I think that's because of the license issue which has"
    It took too long to activate your license. Please try again." do u have any idea about how to download templates in this situation?
     
  37. Etamain

    Etamain

    Joined:
    May 7, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    There is probably services and servers issues so the licenses and assets APIs are down.
    Guess we can only wait for the services or an official anwser from unity guy.
     
  38. luigi7

    luigi7

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Posts:
    99
    This worked for me: I enablend a free VPN, with IP tunneling active I had my License refresh.
     
  39. Menyus777

    Menyus777

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    Guys,you don't have to uninstall the Unity Hub, just simply directly start your desired editor version.
     
  40. Stevens-R-Miller

    Stevens-R-Miller

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Posts:
    679
    When I do that, it starts Hub.
     
  41. altepTest

    altepTest

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,138
    Same here.

    BUT

    I can confirm that for years unity hub developers will screw up the hub update critically breaking functionality.

    The level of incompetence these people have is beyond me.

    No one tested the hub on a computer that is outside unity developer network, they pushed the automatic install on users breaking everything.

    AND

    they as always missing in action with no reply or care.

    So yeah nothing new, no surprise here
     
  42. BadToxic

    BadToxic

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Now it's already one week later and it still happens... for real? Are there some people that can use the hub or why isn't this important enough?
    Anyways, uninstalling the Hub also worked for me, thanks.
     
  43. chrisemerson6952

    chrisemerson6952

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    Ditto, Just happened to me, 4:00 pm, Mon, Nov-13.
     
  44. chrisemerson6952

    chrisemerson6952

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    I just got on them at the asset store. My entire collection vaporized. I fortunately have a purchase history. Didn't get very far with the help service though. Until now I had not known this was an issue.
     
  45. altepTest

    altepTest

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,138
    fortunately I still had the unity hub 2.3.0, it was inside the windows temp files.

    you can try browsing this location

    C:\Users\REPLACE_THIS_WITH_YOUR_USER_NAME\AppData\Roaming\UnityHub\__update__

    if you have a UnityHubSetup.exe there launch it.

    it will remove the new version then open.

    you open it and you have a dismiss update button. click on it else you get back to the new version

    unfortunately the asset store doesn't seem to work :(
     
  46. Menyus777

    Menyus777

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    Hmmmm. For me it asks whether to use Unity hub or launch directly.
     
  47. altepTest

    altepTest

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,138
    yeah but you can't access the store assets
     
  48. andreasdkt

    andreasdkt

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    12
    Having the same issue now :(
     
    milox777 likes this.
  49. Stevens-R-Miller

    Stevens-R-Miller

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2017
    Posts:
    679
    Gosh, that would be helpful. I wonder if that's a setting somewhere.
     
  50. Jakob96

    Jakob96

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    This worked for me. Thanks!